• Episode number 02
  • المدة 6:17
  • ‪اللغة Arabic
  • البيانات 21st May 2020

تعد أزمة توفر المياه الصالحة للاستخدام تحدياً كبيراً أمام مستقبل البشرية جمعاء، حيث تشكل نسبة المياه العذبة من مجمل المياه على سطح الأرض النصف بالمئة فقط، وهو ما يحرم ثلث سكان العالم من الوصول للمياه النظيفة حالياً، سواء كان ذلك بسبب الندرة الفعلية للمياه أو الندرة الاقتصادية. وتعاني دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي بالخصوص من ندرة المياه نظراً لمناخها الصحراوي الجاف والحار، وانخفاض معدل هطول الأمطار على امتداد العام.

دفع هذا الشح في موارد المياه السطحية سكان المنطقة إلى البحث عن مصادر أخرى للمياه، ويمكن أن ننظر إلى ما فعلته إمارة أبوظبي بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة كمثالٍ حي على ذلك، إذ تعتمد الإمارة على المياه الجوفية بنسبة 60%، بينما توفر تحلية مياه البحر 35% من احتياجاتها المائية، وتأتي 5% فقط من المياه النظيفة من جهود إعادة تكرير مياه الصرف الصحي.

وتُستخدم المياه في إمارة أبوظبي باختلاف مصادرها في القطاعات السكانية والصناعية والتجارية والحكومية، إلا أن الإحصائيات وجدت أن الأنشطة الزراعية لوحدها في الإمارات تستهلك ما مجمله 70% من الكميات المسحوبة من المياه الجوفية، وبمعدلاتٍ مرتفعةٍ قد تصل إلى ملياري متر مكعبٍ سنوياً من الماء، أي بمعدلٍ أعلى من قدرة التجدد الطبيعي للمياه الجوفية بحوالي 26 ضعفاً، وهو ما يهدد الأمن المائي للدولة ويعرض مواردها المحدودة لخطر الاستنزاف الكامل في غضون 55 عاماً.

للعثور على حلٍ عملي لهذه المشكلة، تعاون مركز الملك عبد الله للدراسات والبحوث البترولية مع كلّ من هيئة البيئة في أبوظبي، وهيئة أبوظبي للرقابة على الأغذية والمياه، فأجروا بحثاً للعثور على الطريقة المثلى التي يمكن فيها أن تقلل إمارة أبوظبي من استهلاك القطاع الزراعي للمياه الجوفية، ولكن مع تلبية الطلب المتنامي على المنتجات الزراعية في نفس الوقت، سعياً للوصول للاستدامة البيئية وتحقيق الكفاءة الاقتصادية والعدالة الاجتماعية.

بديهياً، كانت الخطوة الأولى في الوصول إلى هذا الحل هي وضع ميزانيةٍ محدودةٍ لكميات استهلاك المياه السنوي من المصادر الجوفية، ومن ثم دراسة طبيعة المحاصيل المزروعة في الإمارة ومستوى استهلاكها للمياه، وتحديد قيمتها الاقتصادية جميعاً بالدرهم الإماراتي. وبعدها، أدخل الباحثون هذه البيانات في نموذج برمجةٍ خطي مُصمَّمٍ خصيصاً لحساب طرق توفير المياه في القطاع الزراعي وتحقيق الفائدة القصوى اقتصادياً كذلك، وذلك وفق عددٍ من الشروط والسيناريوهات المطروحة.

وجدت السيناريوهات المختلفة أن أفضل نتيجةٍ محتملةٍ اقتصادياً وبيئياً تتمثل في وضع حدٍ أقصى للاستهلاك السنوي الزراعي من المياه الجوفية بحوالي مليار متر مكعبٍ سنوياً فقط، مع فتح باب الاستيراد لبعض المحاصيل ذات الاستهلاك العالي للمياه من الخارج. حيث يمكن أن يُوّلد هذا السيناريو قيمةً اقتصادية تتعدى المليارين وسبع مئة مليون درهمٍ إماراتي، وأن يطيل من عمر المياه الجوفية بما بين 22 عامٍ إلى 77 عامٍ.

ومن المحاصيل التي ينصح الباحثون بتوطين زراعتها كلٌ من الفلفل الأحمر واليقطين والذرة الحلوة والقرع، نظراً لانخفاض تكلفة إنتاجها محلياً مقارنةً بتكلفة الاستيراد، بينما ينصحون بالحد من زراعة النخيل والتمور، والأعلاف كالبرسيم الحجازي وحشيشة الرودس المستخدمين كعلفٍ للماشية، والبازلاء والخيار والبامية، حيثُ تتجاوز تكلفة الإنتاج المحلي لهذه المحاصيل تكلفة استيرادها وتُباع بخسارةٍ محلياً.

وعلى الرغم من أهمية نتائج هذا التحليل وتطبيقاتها الكبيرة في الواقع، أشار الباحثون إلى أن هذا النموذج يعاني من بعض جوانب النقص التي يمكن العمل على تحسينها مستقبلاً، إذ لم يأخذ الباحثون تكلفة النقل بعين الاعتبار في حساباتهم، كما واجهوا عدة مشاكل في نقص البيانات، ولم يأخذوا بعين الاعتبار بعض العوامل الأخرى المهمة في تحديد كميات الإنتاج، مثل تركيز السعرات الحرارية في المحاصيل، ومساحة الأراضي الزراعية التي تتطلبها، وأهميتها الثقافية. إلا أن هذا البحث في مجمله يقدم رؤى ثمينةً لواضعي السياسات لتحديد الاستخدام الأمثل للمياه في أبوظبي، وسيطيل من عمر مواردها من المياه الجوفية وسيجعل قطاعها الزراعي أكثر استدامةً وازدهاراً.

للاطلاع على الدراسة كاملة

المؤلفون: نورة المنصوري وديفيد واجن، وحميد أحمد كانجي

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Episode number 02
  • Duration 6:17
  • Language English
  • Date 21st May 2020

DESCRIPTION

The crisis of providing usable water is a major challenge for the future of all mankind, as the percentage of fresh water out of the total water on the Earth’s surface is only half a percent, which deprives a third of the world’s population of access to clean water today, whether due to the actual scarcity of water or economic scarcity. The GCC countries, in particular, suffer from water scarcity due to their dry and hot desert climate and low rainfall throughout the year.
 
This scarcity of surface water resources has prompted the region’s population to search for other sources of water. We can look at what the Emirate of Abu Dhabi in the UAE did as a vivid example of this, as the Emirate relies on groundwater by 60%, while desalination of seawater provides 35% of its water supply, and only 5% of clean water comes from wastewater recycling efforts.
 
Water is used in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi depending on different sources in the population, industrial, commercial and governmental sectors. However, statistics have found that agricultural activities alone in the UAE consume a total of 70% of the groundwater withdrawal. At high rates, that could reach 2 billion cubic meters annually of water, which is 26 times higher than the natural regeneration capacity of groundwater. This threatens the country’s water security and risks its limited resources with complete depletion within 55 years.
 
In order to find a practical solution to this problem, the King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Center (KAPSARC) cooperated with the Environment Agency in Abu Dhabi and the Abu Dhabi Food and Water Control Authority. They conducted a research study to find the optimal way in which the Emirate of Abu Dhabi can reduce agriculture’s consumption of groundwater, while meeting the growing demand for agricultural products at the same time, in pursuit of environmental sustainability, economic efficiency and social justice.
 
Obviously, the first step toward this solution was to set a limited budget for the annual water consumption from groundwater sources, and then study the nature of crops grown in the Emirate and the level of its water consumption, and determine all of its economic value in UAE dirham. Afterwards, the researchers inserted these data into a linear programming model designed specifically to calculate water saving methods in agriculture and achieve the maximum economic benefit, according to a number of conditions and scenarios presented.
 
Various scenarios have found that the best possible economic and environmental outcome is to set a maximum limit for the annual agricultural consumption from groundwater by about only 1 billion cubic meters annually, with the possibility of importing some crops with high water consumption from abroad. This scenario can create an economic value exceeding 2 billion and 700 million AED, and prolong the life of the groundwater by 22 years to 77 years.
 
Among the crops that researchers recommend to localize are red pepper, pumpkin, sweet corn and squash, due to its low cost of production locally compared with the cost of import. They also recommend to reduce the cultivation of date palm, fodder such as alfalfa and Rhodes grass that are used as fodder for livestock, peas, cucumber and okra, where the cost of local production of these crops exceeds the cost of importing and it’s sold at a loss locally.
 
In spite of the importance of this analysis’ outcomes and its major applications in reality, the researchers pointed out that this model shows some aspects of shortcomings that can be improved in the future, as they did not take the cost of transport into their accounts. They also faced several problems in the lack of data, and did not consider some other important factors in determining the quantities of production, such as calorie concentration in crops, the amount of agricultural land required and its cultural significance. However, this research as a whole provides valuable insights for policymakers to determine the optimal use of water in Abu Dhabi, which will prolong the life of its groundwater sources and make its agriculture more sustainable and prosperous.
 
To view the full study
 
Authors: Noura Mansouri, David Wogan and Humaid Kanji

Related podcasts

See all podcasts

The Prospect of Unconventional Gas Development in Saudi Arabia (Study Summaries)

In 2010, Saudi Aramco launched its Accelerated Transformation Plan, which aims…

June 30 , 2020
Arabic

KAPSARC Oil Market Outlook (KOMO) Q2 2020 (Kingdom of Energy)

KAPSARC's Hamid Al Sadoon and Colin Ward walk us through the…

May 14 , 2020
English

Saudi Arabia’s 2018 CO2 Emissions Fall Faster Than Expected (Study Summaries)

The United Nations International Panel on Climate Change reports have highlighted…

April 30 , 2020
English

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you