• ‪البرنامج الرئيس تحولات الطاقة والطاقة الكهربائية
  • ‪الاهتمامات البحثية التمويل والاستثمار المستدامان، المالية والمصرفية التطبيقية، الضرائب المفروضة على الشركات، الاقتصاديات العامة، الاقتصاد القياسي الجزئي التطبيقي

‪السيرة الذاتية

الدكتور فاتح باحث مشارك أول في برنامج تحولات الطاقة والطاقة الكهربائية. تهدف خطة بحثه الحالية إلى تعزيز فهمنا للعواقب المالية والاقتصادية لتحولات الطاقة العالمية نحو مصادر الطاقة المتجددة، وتصميم السياسات الفعالة لموازنة المخاطر المالية وتوقعات النمو.

كان الدكتور فاتح قبل انضمامه لكابسارك خبيراً اقتصادياً في قسم البحوث الاقتصادية الهيكلية في البنك المركزي لجمهورية تركيا، حيث شارك بنشاط في بحث وتصميم السياسات للقطاعين الخاص والمصرفي كما عمل مستشاراً للبنك الدولي وتولى المسؤوليات في مختلف المشاريع الاستشارية للحكومتين الكندية والتركية. من الناحية الأكاديمية، كان أستاذاً مساعداً لمدة عام في جامعة ADA وكان مساعداً للدراسات العليا في جامعة كالجاري وجامعة ويسترن إلينوي، حيث درّس العديد من المقررات في الاقتصاد والاقتصاد القياسي.

ألّف الدكتور فاتح العديد من المقالات الأكاديمية والسياسية والفصول من الكتب سابقاً. وشارك في تنظيم المؤتمرات وورش العمل، وقام بدور الحكم في العديد من المجلات الأكاديمية.

الإصدارات

عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪فاتح
  • ورقة نقاش
  • دراسة
  • تحليلات البيانات
  • رؤية على الأحداث
  • تعليق
  • المقالات المحكمة الخارجية
  • مقالات كابسارك المحكمة
  • الكتب الخارجية
  • مجموعة الفكر
The Circular Carbon Economy Index 2022 – Results

The Circular Carbon Economy Index 2022 – Results

The circular carbon economy (CCE) concept provides a holistic, flexible and pragmatic framework for countries to plan their energy and economic transitions to lower carbon dioxide and greenhouse gas emission levels and, ultimately, net-zero emissions. The CCE Index measures countries’ progress in and potential for reaching CCEs. It is a composite indicator comprising 43 individual, quantitative variables or indicators. The datasets underlying each indicator are harmonized across countries and derived from robust and reputable sources.

10th November 2022
مجلس التعاون الخليجي والاقتصاد الدائري للكربون: التقدم والإمكانات

مجلس التعاون الخليجي والاقتصاد الدائري للكربون: التقدم والإمكانات

خلال العام الماضي، قامت جميع دول مجلس التعاون الخليجي الستة بتحديث أهداف انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة (GHG) على المدى المتوسط من خلال تقديم مساهمات منقحة محددة وطنياً (NDCs) بموجب اتفاقية باريس. وأعلنت البحرين والمملكة العربية السعودية والإمارات العربية المتحدة وأرامكو السعودية عن أهدافها للحياد الصفري في الانبعاثات. بدأ العمل الآن في تطوير خطط تنفيذ أكثر تفصيلاً، وقد تم بالفعل وضع بعض عناصرها في المساهمات المحددة وطنيًا المحدثة.

14th June 2022
فهم ديناميكيات تحول الطاقة المتجددة: المحددات والتوقعات المستقبلية في ظل سيناريوهات مختلفة

فهم ديناميكيات تحول الطاقة المتجددة: المحددات والتوقعات المستقبلية في ظل سيناريوهات مختلفة

للهيكل الحالي لنظام الطاقة العالمي عواقب بيئية خطيرة تتطلب تحولًا عاجلاً نحو بدائل أكثر استدامة. وإلى جانب العديد من إجراءات التخفيف المتاحة، مثل تعزيز كفاءة الطاقة، واستخدام الطاقة النووية، واستبدال الوقود واعتماد تقنيات احتجاز الكربون، كانت الطاقة المتجددة (RE) أكثر الإجراءات تطبيقًا على نطاق واسع في العديد من الدول، وخاصة لقطاع الكهرباء. ارتفع متوسط ​​حصة الدولة من الطاقة المتجددة غير الكهرومائية (NhRE) في توليد الكهرباء ستة أضعاف خلال العقدين الماضيين، من أقل من 1٪ في عام 2000 إلى ما يقارب 6٪ في عام 2018. وعلى الرغم من تطبيقه الواسع، إلا أن هناك تباينًا كبيرًا في التحول للطاقة المتجددة في الدول.

11th May 2022
مؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون لعام 2021- النتائج

مؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون لعام 2021- النتائج

هناك حاجة ملحة إلى التوفيق والمواءمة ما بين الانبعاثات العالمية لثاني أكسيد الكربون وغازات الدفيئة الأخرى والمسارات الآمنة للمناخ. كما أن هناك حاجة إلى مجموعة واسعة من التقنيات والأساليب لتحقيق ذلك بطريقة منصفة وأكثر فعالية من حيث التكلفة. يوفر مفهوم الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون إطارا شاملا ومرنا وعمليا للدول حتى تتمكن من التخطيط لمساهماتها الرامية إلى تحقيق الأهداف المناخية المتفق عليها بشكل عام.

29th December 2021
فهم ديناميات التحول إلى الطاقة المتجددة: نهج المؤشرات المحددة

فهم ديناميات التحول إلى الطاقة المتجددة: نهج المؤشرات المحددة

تعتبر الطاقة المتجددة عنصرا رئيسا من عناصر التحولات العالمية في مجال الطاقة. ولتحديد دينامياتها على نحو أفضل، فإن هذه الدراسة تهدف إلى بناء مؤشر مركب لقياس إمكانات تحول الدول إلى الطاقة المتجددة. حددت الدراسة استنادا إلى عقدين من البحوث الأكاديمية، 45 عاملًا من العوامل التمكينية الرئيسة للتحول إلى الطاقة المتجددة. وصنفت إلى سبعة مؤشرات فرعية، هي: العوامل الاقتصادية، والتنمية المالية، ورأس المال البشري، والحصول   على الطاقة، وأمن الطاقة، والاستدامة البيئية، والبنية التحتية المؤسسية. ومن ثم قمنا بتجميع المؤشرات الفرعية في مؤشر مركب أطلقنا عليه اسم مؤشر إمكانية التحول إلى مصادر الطاقة المتجددة  ويتوفر هذا المؤشر ومؤشراته الفرعية لنحو 149 دولة ويغطي الفترة الممتدة ما بين عامي (1990 و2018).

28th February 2022
مؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون لعام 2021 – المنهجية

مؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون لعام 2021 – المنهجية

يهدف مؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون (CCE Index) إلى قياس مدى تقدم الدول وإمكانية تحقيقها لاقتصادات دائرية للكربون (CCEs)، ويعتمد هذا المؤشر على مؤشرين فرعيين: حيث يقوم أحدهما بقياس الأداء الحالي للدول في الأبعاد المختلفة لـلاقتصاد الدائري للكربون، بينما يقيس الآخر وضع الدول فيما يتعلق بإحراز تقدم نحو تحقيق الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون استنادًا إلى عوامل التمكين الرئيسة. كما يتيح هذا المؤشر إمكانية إجراء مقارنات إضافية بين أكبر الدول المنتجة للنفط من خلال مجموعة منفصلة من المؤشرات الإضافية التي تقدر مدى توافق الأداء الصناعي وبيئات الأعمال في هذه الدول مع الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون.      

2nd November 2021
مؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون- المنظور المنهجي والإطار المفاهيمي

مؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون- المنظور المنهجي والإطار المفاهيمي

يمكن استخدام نهج الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون الذي وُضع أثناء ترأس المملكة العربية السعودية لمجموعة العشرين، الذي أقره قادة المجموعة ووزراء الطاقة فيها بوصفه إطارا يمكّن من إجراء تقييمات شاملة لكافة تكنولوجيات إدارة الطاقة والانبعاثات المتاحة ضمن نطاق الميزانية العالمية للكربون. كما أن مشروع مؤشر كابسارك للاقتصاد الدائري للكربون الذي تم إطلاقه في عام 2021، سيعمل على تطوير مؤشر مركب يعمل على قياس التدابير المتخذة وتتبع أداء الدول وإمكانياتها فيما يتعلق بالأبعاد المختلفة للاقتصاد الدائري للكربون دعما للمناقشات والتخطيط في مجال السياسات العامة ذات الصلة.

28th June 2021
مشاركة القطاع الخاص في الانتقال إلى الطاقة المتجددة

مشاركة القطاع الخاص في الانتقال إلى الطاقة المتجددة

  يستحوذ قطاع الكهرباء على نسبة كبير من تدفقات استثمارات القطاع الخاص في الدول النامية، ولقد اتجه أكثر من نصف (51 %) إجمالي تدفقات استثمارات القطاع الخاص في الدول النامية منذ عام 1995 (ما يقارب 1.9 تريليوندولار) إلى قطاع الكهرباء، ويغطي هذا الرقم خصخصة البنية التحتية الحالية للكهرباء بالإضافة إلى استخدام نشر البنية التحتية الجديدة، بما فيها مشاريع توليد ونقل وتوزيع الطاقة الكهربائية.

22nd March 2021
الاستثمار في طموحات تحقيق الحياد الصفري في الانبعاثات

الاستثمار في طموحات تحقيق الحياد الصفري في الانبعاثات

يتطلب تحقيق الأهداف العالمية للحياد الصفري في الانبعاثات (NZE) استثمار تريليونات الدولارات الأمريكية سنويا في تقنيات التخفيف المختلفة. وفي حين أنه من المتوقع أن يكون النصيب الأكبر من هذا الاستثمار في تقنيات التخفيف السائدة (مثل الطاقة المتجددة)، تعتبر التقنيات منخفضة الكربون (على سبيل المثال، احتجاز الكربون واستخدامه وتخزينه) أي ًضا من بين العوامل التمكينية الرئيسة، خاصة في القطاعات التي يصعب تخفيفها. ومع ذلك فإن عدم وجود معايير معترف بها عالم ًيا للتصنيف والإفصاح عن الممارسات البيئية والاجتماعية وحوكمة الشركات (ESG) يعيق الجهود المبذولة لزيادة التمويل اللازم، لا سيما في استثمارات احتجاز الكربون واستخدامه وتخزينه.

14th June 2022
التأثير الاقتصادي طويل وقصير المدى لفيروس كورونا الجديد (COVID-19): هل يبدو المُستقبل أكثر اخضرارًا؟

التأثير الاقتصادي طويل وقصير المدى لفيروس كورونا الجديد (COVID-19): هل يبدو المُستقبل أكثر اخضرارًا؟

شكّل فيروس كورونا الجديد (COVID-19) خطرًا جسيمًا على حياتنا واقتصاداتنا منذ بدء اندلاعه في الصين أوائل شهر يناير المنصرم، وقد سجلت ملايين الإصابات ومئات الآلاف من الوفيات على مستوى العالم، مع توقع وقوع المزيد من الضحايا في الأيام والأشهر المقبلة. وردًا على ذلك، تعيّن على العديد من الدول إيقاف وتيرةالحياة اليومية فيها، وتعليق كافة الرحلات الدولية باستثناء الأساسية منها.    

7th June 2020
فهم ديناميات عمليات التحوّل في مجال الطاقة المتجددة: أداء الدول وإمكاناتها

فهم ديناميات عمليات التحوّل في مجال الطاقة المتجددة: أداء الدول وإمكاناتها

تعتبر الطاقة المتجددة (RE) مسارا بالغ الأهمية بالنسبة للتحول العالمي في مجال الطاقة نحو البدائل المستدامة. وقد وضعت إستراتيجيات مختلفة للتخفيف من حدتها ، مثل تعزيز كفاءة استخدام الطاقة، والاستفادة من استبدال الوقود، ونشر الطاقة النووية واعتماد آلية احتجاز الكربون. وتستأثر الطاقة المتجددة من بين الإستراتيجيات، بأكبر قدر من الاهتمام على الصعيد العالمي، لا سيما في قطاع الطاقة الكهربائية. وعلى الرغم من هيمنة هذا الاتجاه العالمي، إلا أن انتشار الطاقة المتجددة يختلف اختلافا كبيرا بين دول العالم. إذ تقوم بعض الدول مثل الدنمارك، بتوليد نصف طاقتها الكهربائية من الموارد المتجددة. وعلى العكس من ذلك، تقوم العديد من الدول الأخرى مثل روسيا اعتبارًا من عام 2018، بتوليد أقل من 1 ٪ من طاقتها من الموارد المتجددة. وتثير هذه الحقائق المتعلقة بالبيانات السؤال الأهم حول ما إذا كان هذا التباين في انتشار الطاقة المتجددة يعكس إمكانات الدول.

11th May 2022
كيف يمكن لمؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون أن يساعد في صنع السياسات: دراسة حالة للمملكة العربية السعودية

كيف يمكن لمؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون أن يساعد في صنع السياسات: دراسة حالة للمملكة العربية السعودية

مؤشر الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون (CCE) أداة طورها مركز الملك عبدالله للدراسات والبحوث البترولية (كابسارك) لصناع سياسات الطاقة والمناخ وأصحاب المصلحة لتحديد ومقارنة أداء الدول وإمكانياتها فيما يتعلق بالاقتصاد الدائري للكربون. حيث أن الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون مفهوم جديد نسبيًا. ويهدف إلى لفت الانتباه إلى الحاجة إلى معالجة انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون والغازات الدفيئة الأخرى بشكل شامل وكامل باستخدام جميع خيارات التخفيف المتاحة الفعالة من حيث التكلفة، من خلال تقليل انبعاثات الكربون أو ثاني أكسيد الكربون وإعادة تدويرها وإعادة استخدامها وإزالتها.

2nd November 2021
Can Usage of Specialized Software Reduce Tax Compliance Costs in Developing Countries?

Can Usage of Specialized Software Reduce Tax Compliance Costs in Developing Countries?

2017

ورش العمل ‬‪‬‫ذات العلاقة

‪عرض جميع ورش العمل
10 نوفمبر

الخفض وإعادة الاستخدام وإعادة التدوير والإزالة:…

يسرنا فتح باب التسجيل لحضور ورشة العمل الافتراضية القادمة بشأن مؤتمر المناخ (COP26) بعنوان: الخفض وإعادة الاستخدام وإعادة التدوير والإزالة: تحقيق صافي الانبعاثات الصفرية العالمية باستخدام نهج الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون. يستضيف مركز الملك عبدالله للدراسات والبحوث البترولية (كابسارك) هذه الورشة بالتعاون مع معهد أكسفورد لدراسات الطاقة ومجلس الطاقة العالمي، وستعقد يوم الأربعاء العاشر من نوفمبر […]

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Primary Program Energy Transitions and Electric Power
  • Research Interests Sustainable Finance and Investment, Applied Banking and Finance, Corporate Taxation, Public Economics and Applied Micro-Econometrics

Biography

Dr. Yilmaz is a senior research associate in the Energy Transitions and Electric Powerprogram. His current research agenda aims to enhance our understanding of the financial and economic consequences of the global energy transition towards renewables, and to design effective policies to balance financial risks and growth prospects.

Prior to joining KAPSARC, Dr. Yilmaz had worked as an economist in the Structural Economic Research Department of the Central Bank of the Republic of Turkey, where he actively involved in the research and the design of policies for the private and banking sectors. He had also worked as a consultant for the World Bank and took responsibilities in various consulting projects for the Canadian and Turkish Governments. As an academic, he had spent a year as an assistant professor at the ADA University and worked as a graduate assistant at the University of Calgary and at the Western Illinois University, where he had taught several courses in economics and econometrics.

Dr. Yilmaz has authored various academic and policy articles, and book chapters in the past. He has involved in the organization of conferences and workshops, and acted as a referee for many academic journals.

Publications

See all Fatih’s publications
  • Discussion papers
  • Methodology papers
  • Data Insight
  • Instant Insights
  • Commentaries
  • KAPSARC journal article
  • External journal articles
  • External Books
  • Think20 (T20)
The Gulf Cooperation Council and the Circular Carbon Economy: Progress and Potential

The Gulf Cooperation Council and the Circular Carbon Economy: Progress and Potential

Over the past year, all six Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries have updated their medium-term greenhouse gas (GHG) emission targets by submitting revised nationally determined contributions (NDCs) under the Paris Agreement. Bahrain, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Saudi Aramco have also announced net-zero emission targets. Work is now beginning to develop more detailed roadmaps and implementation plans, some elements of which are already laid out in the updated NDCs.

14th June 2022
Understanding the Dynamics of the Renewable Energy Transition: The Determinants and Future Projections Under Different Scenarios

Understanding the Dynamics of the Renewable Energy Transition: The Determinants and Future Projections Under Different Scenarios

The global energy system’s current structure has severe environmental consequences that necessitate an urgent transformation toward more sustainable alternatives. Besides many available mitigation actions, such as enhancing energy efficiency, deploying nuclear energy, switching fuels and adopting carbon capture technologies, renewable energy (RE) has been the most widely applied one in many countries, especially for the power sector. The average country-level share of non-hydroelectric renewable energy (NhRE) in power generation rose sixfold over the last two decades, from less than 1% in 2000 to roughly 6% in 2018. Despite its wide application, significant heterogeneity exists in the RE transition across countries.  

11th May 2022
The Circular Carbon Economy Index 2021 – Results

The Circular Carbon Economy Index 2021 – Results

There is an urgent need to align global carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas emissions with climate-safe trajectories. A broad range of technologies and approaches are needed to achieve this cost-effectively and equitably. The circular carbon economy (CCE) concept provides a holistic, flexible and pragmatic framework for countries to plan their respective contributions toward the commonly agreed climate goals.

29th December 2021
Understanding the Dynamics of the Renewable Energy Transition: A Determinant Index Approach

Understanding the Dynamics of the Renewable Energy Transition: A Determinant Index Approach

Renewable energy is a key component of global energy transitions. To better identify its dynamics, this study constructs a composite index to measure countries’ renewable energy transition potential. Based on two decades of academic research, we identify 45 main enabling factors of the renewable energy transition. We classify these factors into seven subindices: economic factors, financial development, human capital, energy access, energy security, environmental sustainability and institutional infrastructure. We then aggregate the subindices into a composite index, which we call the renewable energy transition potential index. This index and its subindices are available for 149 countries for the period from 1990 to 2018.

28th February 2022
The Circular Carbon Economy Index 2021 – Methodology

The Circular Carbon Economy Index 2021 – Methodology

The Circular Carbon Economy Index (CCE Index) aims to measure countries’ progress in and potential for achieving circular carbon economies (CCEs). The CCE Index is based on two sub-indices: one for measuring countries’ current performance in the various dimensions of the CCE and the other for gauging how countries are positioned to make progress toward the CCE, based on key enabling factors. The CCE Index also allows for additional comparisons among top oil-producing countries through a separate set of add-on indicators that estimate how these countries’ industrial performance and business environments are aligning with the CCE.

2nd November 2021
The Circular Carbon Economy Index – Methodological Approach and Conceptual Framework

The Circular Carbon Economy Index – Methodological Approach and Conceptual Framework

The circular carbon economy (CCE) approach, developed during Saudi Arabia’s G20 Presidency and endorsed by G20 leaders and energy ministers, can be used as a framework for holistic assessments of all available energy and emission management technologies within the confines of a global carbon budget. KAPSARC’s Circular Carbon Economy Index project, launched in 2021, will develop a composite indicator (index) that measures and tracks country performance and potential on various dimensions of the CCE to support related policy discussions and planning.    

28th June 2021
Private Participation in the Renewable Energy Transition

Private Participation in the Renewable Energy Transition

The electricity sector captures a significant portion of PPI flows in developing countries. Over half (51%) of total PPI flows in developing countries since 1995 (~ US$1.9 trillion) went into the electricity sector. This figure covers the privatization of existing electricity infrastructure, as well as the deployment of new infrastructure, including power generation, transmission, and distribution projects.

22nd March 2021
Investing in Net-Zero Emission Ambitions: Global ESG Frameworks and CCUS Projects

Investing in Net-Zero Emission Ambitions: Global ESG Frameworks and CCUS Projects

Achieving global net zero emission (NZE) goals necessitates trillions of US$ of annual investment in various mitigation technologies. While a significant portion of this investment is expected to take place in mainstream mitigation technologies (e.g., renewable energy), low carbon technologies (e.g., CCUS) are also considered among the key enablers, especially in hard-to-abate sectors. However, the lack of a globally recognized environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) taxonomy and disclosure standards hinders efforts to scale up the necessary finance, especially in the case of CCUS investments. Establishing more holistic global ESG guidelines, including more explicit guidance on the reporting of CCUS-related activities, can accelerate the global sustainable energy transition.

14th June 2022
Understanding the Dynamics of Renewable Energy Transition: Country Performance and Potential

Understanding the Dynamics of Renewable Energy Transition: Country Performance and Potential

Renewable energy (RE) is a vital stream of the global energy transition toward sustainable alternatives. Various mitigation strategies, such as enhancing energy efficiency, utilizing fuel switching, deploying nuclear power and adopting carbon capture, have been developed. Of these, RE has captured the most attention globally, especially in the power sector. Despite this global trend, however, RE penetration differs significantly across countries. Some countries, such as Denmark, generate half of their power from renewable resources. In contrast, many others, such as Russia, are generating less than 1% of their power from renewable resources as of 2018. These data facts raise the important question of whether this heterogeneity in RE penetration reflects countries’ potentials.

11th May 2022
How the Circular Carbon Economy Index Can Serve Policymaking: Case Study of Saudi Arabia

How the Circular Carbon Economy Index Can Serve Policymaking: Case Study of Saudi Arabia

The Circular Carbon Economy (CCE) Index is a tool developed by KAPSARC for energy and climate policymakers and stakeholders to quantify and compare country performance and potential on the CCE. The CCE is a relatively new concept. It aims to draw attention to the need to address carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas emissions holistically by using all available mitigation options cost effectively, through reducing, recycling, reusing and removing carbon or carbon dioxide emissions.

2nd November 2021
Can Usage of Specialized Software Reduce Tax Compliance Costs in Developing Countries?

Can Usage of Specialized Software Reduce Tax Compliance Costs in Developing Countries?

2017

Related workshops

See all workshops
10 Nov

Reduce, Reuse, Recycle & Remove: Achieving…

We are pleased to open the registration to virtually attend the upcoming COP26 offsite workshop event entitled: “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle & Remove: Achieving a Net-Zero Emission World using the Circular Carbon Economy Approach.” The workshop is hosted by the King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Center (KAPSARC) in collaboration with the Oxford Institute for Energy […]

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you