• Episode number 05
  • المدة 7:26
  • ‪اللغة Arabic
  • البيانات 31st August 2020

نص الحلقة

اكتسبت تقنيات الطاقة الشمسية زخمًا عالميًا كبيرًا كخيار بديل لتوليد الطاقة في الآونة الأخيرة؛ إذ يمكن توليد الكهرباء مركزيًا بواسطة شركات المرافق في محطات الطاقة الشمسية الكبيرة، أو تولد بطريقة لا مركزية بواسطة أنظمة التوليد الكهروضوئية الصغيرة الموزعة بالقرب من المستهلك النهائي، ويمكن تثبيتها للاستخدام في القطاعات السكنية والتجارية والصناعية.

تمتلك أنظمة توليد الطاقة الكهروضوئية الموزعة بعض السمات الجذابة؛ إذ يمكنها تأجيل الاستثمار في مرافق توليد الطاقة، وتقليل خسائر نقل الطاقة، وتقليل انبعاثات الكربون، وتعزيز صناعة الطاقة المتجددة والعمالة المرتبطة بها.

وفي الوقت نفسه -ومن وجهة نظر المستهلكين- يمكن اعتبار أنظمة توليد الطاقة الكهروضوئية الموزعة خيارًا مجديًا اقتصاديًا، وذلك اعتمادًا على العوامل التقنية والبيئية والتنظيمية، مما يجعله إما مجديًا وجذابًا من الناحية المالية أو غير معقول ومكلف. وتبلغ قدرة النظام النموذجي في القطاع السكني أقل من 20 كيلوواط، وعادةً ما تشجع الأسر لتركيبها لخفض فواتير الكهرباء الشهرية.

إذا قامت أسرة ما بتركيب نظام كهروضوئي، فمن المحتمل أن تكون هناك عدة أوقات تزيد فيها الكهرباء المولدة عن الأحمال التي ينبغي تلبيتها، ويتعامل مع هذه الطاقة الزائدة بثلاث طرق: إما التخلص منها، أو تخزينها في بطارية، أو تصديرها إلى الشبكة الكهربائية. وتزداد الجاذبية التجارية لأنظمة توليد الطاقة الكهروضوئية الموزعة إذا حصل المستخدم النهائي على مردود مالي من الكهرباء المصدرة إلى الشبكة الكهربائية.

ولفهم الجدوى المالية للنظم الكهروضوئية بشكل أفضل، نشر مركز الملك عبد الله للدراسات والبحوث البترولية تعليقًا بعنوان: "توضيح آليات دعم أنظمة التوليد الموزع للطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية". وأشار الباحث في هذا المنشور إلى أن عدة عوامل تؤثر على جاذبية الأنظمة الكهروضوئية، مثل التكلفة الرأسمالية لتركيب النظام، وظروف الإشعاع الشمسي المحلي، وملف أحمال المنزل، وسعر الكهرباء السائد، والسياسات التنظيمية التي تحكم نشر واستخدام نظم توليد الطاقة الكهروضوئية الموزعة.

وقد ناقش الباحث الكيفية التي يمكن للسياسات التنظيمية المختلفة أن تحفز بها انتشار أنظمة توليد الطاقة الكهروضوئية الموزعة، فهناك العديد من أنواع سياسات التحفيز المالي حول العالم، مثل المساندة الرأسمالية، وآلية تعريفة التغذية، وصافي القياس. وتتميز آلية المساندة الرأسمالية بسهولة التصور والتطبيق؛ إذ تقدم الحكومة دفعة مالية مباشرة ولمرة واحدة للأسر لتغطية كامل تكلفة رأس المال المطلوب لتثبيت نظام الطاقة الكهروضوئية أو جزء منها. أما بالنسبة لآليتي تعريفة التغذية وصافي القياس فهما أكثر تعقيدًا.

تعمل آلية تعريفة التغذية من خلال قياس كمية الكهرباء التي تصدرها الأسرة إلى الشبكة بواسطة العدادات الذكية، ودفع الأموال لهم مقابل كل وحدة مصدرة من الطاقة (أي لكل كيلوواط في الساعة)، ويمكن لهذا المبلغ أن يختلف عن سعر بيع الكهرباء. ومن ناحية أخرى، تتبع سياسة صافي القياس نفس العملية، إلا أنها تشتري أي كهرباء مصدرة من المستهلك بنفس السعر الذي تباع به.

تضمن التعليق أيضًا أمثلة افتراضية للاستهلاك المنزلي باستخدام نظام توليد الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية الموزعة، إذ افترض أن هناك أسرة ستسافر خلال شهري يوليو وأغسطس خلال الإجازة الصيفية، وأنها تشتري الكهرباء بسعر 0.10 دولار لكل كيلوواط/ساعة من شركة المرافق. فإذا ركبت هذه الأسرة نظام توليد كهروضوئي موزع، ستشتري الأسرة كهرباءً أقل من الشبكة؛ لأن نظام التوليد يلبي بشكل أساسي جزءًا من الحمل أولًا. وتصدر الكهرباء المولدة الفائضة -إن وجدت- بعد ذلك إلى الشبكة الكهربائية.

وافترض الباحث أن شركة المرافق ستعوض الأسرة عن الكهرباء المصدرة بمقدار 0.05 دولار للكيلوواط لكل ساعة، والتي تدفع للأسرة نقدًا أو عن طريق نقل القيمة كرصيد لاستخدامه في فاتورة الكهرباء التالية. فإذا كان خط الأساس لإجمالي فاتورة الكهرباء السنوية للأسرة هو 1,010 دولارات أمريكية، ستنخفض الفاتورة بشكل كبير إذا ما ركب نظام توليد الطاقة الكهروضوئية الموزعة، فيمكن أن تصل إلى 808 دولار في سيناريو آلية تعريفة التغذية، أو حتى 760 دولار في سيناريو صافي القياس السنوي.

على الرغم من أن السياسة الأكثر فائدة للمستهلك هي صافي القياس السنوي، إلا أن هذه الآلية هي الأكثر تكلفة بالنسبة للحكومة. لذا ينبغي موازنة التكاليف الاقتصادية لتنفيذ السياسات الداعمة لتوليد الطاقة الكهروضوئية الموزعة مقابل الفوائد التي ستوفرها عند وضعها. وعند القيام بذلك يمكن لواضعي السياسات تعظيم مكاسب توليد الطاقة الكهروضوئية الموزعة من منظور اقتصادي شامل.

للاطلاع على الدراسة كاملة

المؤلف: عمرو الشرفا

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Episode number 05
  • Duration 7:26
  • Language Arabic
  • Date 31st August 2020

Script

The adoption of solar energy technologies has recently gained considerable global momentum as an alternative option to generate electricity. It can be centrally generated by utilities in large solar power stations, or generated in a decentralized fashion by small, photovoltaic distributed generation systems that are near the end consumer, and can be installed for residential, commercial, and industrial use.

Photovoltaic distributed generation possesses some attractive attributes: it can defer investment in utility power generation, reduce energy transmission losses, reduce carbon emissions, and boost the renewable energy industry and the associated employment that comes with it.

Meanwhile, and from the consumers’ point of view, a photovoltaic distributed generation system can be considered an economically feasible choice depending on technological, environmental, and regulatory factors, making it either financially viable and attractive, or unreasonable and costly. In the residential sector, the typical system has a capacity below 20 kilowatts, and households are usually motivated to install them to reduce their monthly electricity bills.

If a household installs a PV system, there are likely to be several occasions when the electricity generated by the system is higher than the electricity demand. That excess energy is dealt with in three ways: either it is discarded, stored in a battery, or exported to the grid. The commercial appeal of distributed photovoltaic generation increases if the end-user earns financial gains from electricity exported to the grid.

To better understand the PV system’s financial viability, the King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Center published a Commentary titled “Demystifying Policy Support Mechanisms for Distributed Solar Photovoltaic Systems.” In the publication, the researcher noted that several factors influence the PV systems’ attractiveness, such as the system’s installation capital cost, the local solar irradiation conditions, the household’s load profile, the prevailing electricity price, and the regulatory policies that govern PV distributed generation deployment.

The researcher discussed how different regulatory policies could incentivize PV distributed generation. There are many types of financial incentivizing policies around the world, such as Investment Credits, Feed-in Tariffs, and Net Metering. The Investment Credit mechanism is the easiest to understand and implement, in which the government provides a direct one-time payment to households to cover all or part of the capital cost required to install the PV system. However, Feed-in Tariffs and Net Metering are more complex.

The Feed-in Tariff works by measuring how much electricity the household exports to the grid by smart meters, and paying money to them for every exported unit of energy (kilowatt-hour), which can be different from the electricity selling price. On the other hand, Net Metering follows the same process, but buys back any exported electricity at the same price at which it is sold.

The Commentary also included hypothetical examples of household consumption using the distributed generation solar PV system, assuming that the household members would travel during July and August, and purchase electricity for $ 0.10 per kilowatt-hour from the utility. If a distributed photovoltaic system is installed, the household will buy less energy from the grid, because the generation system mainly meets part of the load first. Then, the surplus generation - if any - will be exported to the grid.

The researcher assumed that the utility compensates the household for the exported electricity by $0.05 per kilowatt-hour. It pays to the household in cash, or by carrying over the balance for use in the next electricity bill. If the baseline of the total annual electricity bill for the household is $1,010, the bill will decrease substantially if a PV distributed generation system is installed and can go as low as $808 or even $760 in the Feed-in Tariffs and Annual Net Metering scenarios, respectively.

Although the most beneficial policy mechanism for the consumer is the annual net measurement, this is the costliest policy mechanism for the government. Hence, when devising policies that support photovoltaic distributed generation, the economic costs of doing so should be weighed against the benefits it would provide. In doing so, policymakers can maximize the photovoltaic distributed generation's gains from a holistic economic perspective.

To view full study
 
Author: Amro Elshurafa

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you