‪طباعة

‪الملخص

When energy sectors transition from government-controlled to market-driven systems, the legacy regulatory instruments can create unintended market distortions and lead to higher costs. In China, the most notable regulatory throwback is ceilings on electricity prices that generators can charge utilities, which are specified by plant type and region. We built a mixed complementarity model calibrated to 2012 data to examine the impact of these price caps on the electricity and coal sectors.

‪المؤلفون

برتراند ريو

برتراند ريو

يركز برتراند ريو في أبحاثه على تأثير تنظيم السوق وتحرير أسعار الطاقة. يعمل في مركز الملك عبد الله للدراسات والبحوث…

يركز برتراند ريو في أبحاثه على تأثير تنظيم السوق وتحرير أسعار الطاقة. يعمل في مركز الملك عبد الله للدراسات والبحوث البترولية زميل باحث، ويهتم يتطوير نماذج نظم الطاقة المعنية بالبرمجة الخطية ومشاكل التكامل المختلط وتأثير نظرية الألعاب في الاقتصاد الحديث، ساهم في تطوير نموذج كابسارك للطاقة في الصين ودرس تأثير التنظيم الحكومي في أسواق الفحم والطاقة والغاز الطبيعي، وعمل قبل التحاقه بالمركز باحثًا مساعدًا في وكالة الفضاء الكندية، حصل على درجة الماجستير في الهندسة والعلوم البحرية من جامعة الملك عبد الله للعلوم والتقنية كاوست، ودرجة البكالوريوس في فيزياء وكيمياء الغلاف الجوي من جامعة ماكجيل في مونتريال في كندا

 

   

فيليب جالكين

باحث زائر فيليب باحث زائر في المركز. ويهتم في أبحاثه بالجوانب الاقتصادية والسياساتية لإمدادات الطاقة وتجارتها. وتشمل أبحاثه في المركز كذلك تقييم…

فيليب باحث زائر في المركز. ويهتم في أبحاثه بالجوانب الاقتصادية والسياساتية لإمدادات الطاقة وتجارتها. وتشمل أبحاثه في المركز كذلك تقييم تأثير اتفاقيات الحد من الإنتاج على تدّفق الطاقة من خلال نمذجة قطاعات توريد وإنتاج الطاقة، لتساعده على تقديم  رؤى خول بسياسات إنتاج واستهلاك الطاقة في الصين، وتأثيرها على أسواق الطاقة العالمية.

‪الخبرات

  • العلاقات الاقتصادية الدولية، إعداد الدراسات على المستويين المحلي والإقليمي بالإضافة إلى تحليل السياسات

الإصدارات عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪فيليب جالكين

أكسل بيريو

مدير برنامج مدير برنامج الطاقة والاقتصاد الكلي في كابسارك، وكان نائب الرئيس المؤقت للبحوث في كابسارك من أكتوبر 2018م إلى مارس 2019م.…

مدير برنامج الطاقة والاقتصاد الكلي في كابسارك، وكان نائب الرئيس المؤقت للبحوث في كابسارك من أكتوبر 2018م إلى مارس 2019م. انضم إلى كابسارك في عام 2011م بعد أن أمضى 15 عاماً في شركة آي إف بي إنيرجي نوفل في فرنسا، حيث كان يقود مشاريع البحوث والاستشارات والتدريب. وقد حصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة بانثون-سوربون في باريس، وهو يهتم بالبحوث التطبيقية التي تجمع بين الابتكار المنهجي والأهمية العملية لصنع السياسات، فتركز بحوثه على اقتصاديات الطاقة، والسياسات، والتمويل، وتسعير النفط، والاقتصادات المصدرة للطاقة. كما أنه نشر على نطاق واسع أكثر من 40 ورقة بحثية في المجلات المحكمة.

‪الخبرات

  • أسعار النفط، التمويل، اقتصاديات الطاقة بالإضافة إلى نمذجة الطاقة

الإصدارات عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪أكسل بيريو

فريدريك ميرفي

فريدريك ميرفي

باحث زائر فريدريك ميرفي أستاذ في كلية فوكس للأعمال بجامعة تيمبل لمدة 30 عاما. وكان باحثاً زائراً في كابسارك حيث يشارك في… فريدريك ميرفي أستاذ في كلية فوكس للأعمال بجامعة تيمبل لمدة 30 عاما. وكان باحثاً زائراً في كابسارك حيث يشارك في تطوير نماذج الطاقة وكتابة تحليلات السياسات في مجموعة من المجالات، بما في ذلك استخدام الطاقة المحلية في المملكة العربية السعودية وقوة السوق في أسواق النفط العالمية وتصميم وإدارة صناديق تثبيت الدخل واقتصاديات الطاقة في الصين والهند. يعمل بشكل رئيسي في مجال التنبؤ بسوق الطاقة وتحليل سياسات الطاقة. قبل انضمامه إلى جامعة تيمبل، كان في إدارة معلومات الطاقة بوزارة الطاقة الأمريكية وإدارة الطاقة الاتحادية قبل ذلك حيث ترأس المجموعة التي قامت بتحليل الأثر الاقتصادي للقوانين التي صدرت خلال رئاسة الرئيس كارتر وتطويرها وتنفيذ نماذج التنبؤ المستخدمة بعد ذلك في تحليلات السياسات والتنبؤات الواردة في التقرير السنوي لتقييم الأثر البيئي. وقد نشر أكثر من 100 مقالة محكمة. في إحدى الدراسات كان في المرتبة في 20 الباحثين الأكثر نشرا في مجاله على مدى خمسين عاما. وكان رئيس تحرير مجلة إنتيرفاسس، محرر منطقة لأبحاث العمليات، و إنفورمز جورنال في مجال الحوسبة، ونائب رئيس المطبوعات عن إنفورمز وجمعية بحوث العمليات في أمريكا. وقد شارك في دراسة قضايا السياسة الاقتصادية المحلية، بما في ذلك تقديم المشورة للجنة الإصلاح الضريبي لمدينة فيلادلفيا، وتقدير تأثير بناء الكازينوهات في فيلادلفيا، وإعادة تقسيم الدوائر السياسية. كما قام بدراسة السفن حاويات النفط على نهر ديلاوير.

Share this Publication

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

Print

Abstract

When energy sectors transition from government-controlled to market-driven systems, the legacy regulatory instruments can create unintended market distortions and lead to higher costs. In China, the most notable regulatory throwback is ceilings on electricity prices that generators can charge utilities, which are specified by plant type and region. We built a mixed complementarity model calibrated to 2012 data to examine the impact of these price caps on the electricity and coal sectors.

Authors

Bertrand Rioux

Senior Research Associate Bertrand is a senior research associate focusing on the impact of market regulation and liberalization in energy markets. An experienced energy… Bertrand is a senior research associate focusing on the impact of market regulation and liberalization in energy markets. An experienced energy systems model developer (linear optimization and mixed complementary problems), he is working on developing the KAPSARC Energy Model (KEM) as a decision support tool for analyzing price regulation in energy economies. Bertrand has contributed to the development of KEM Saudi Arabia and is the lead developer of KEM China, studying the impact of government regulation in the coal, power and natural gas markets. He was previously employed as a research assistant at the Canadian Space Agency.

Expertise

  • Modeling power systems
  • Electricity markets
  • Renewable energy
  • Game theory
  • Complex problem solving and climate change

Publications See all Bertrand Rioux’s publications

Philipp Galkin

Visiting Researcher Philipp is a visiting researcher at KAPSARC, working on the economic and policy aspects of energy supply and trade. Philipp’s… Philipp is a visiting researcher at KAPSARC, working on the economic and policy aspects of energy supply and trade. Philipp’s work at KAPSARC includes evaluating the effect of preferential trade agreements on energy flows, analysis of OPEC energy policy and deriving insights related to China’s energy policy and its impact on global markets through modeling energy supply sectors.

Expertise

  • International economic relations
  • Regional and country studies and policy analysis

Publications See all Philipp Galkin’s publications

Axel Pierru

Program Director Axel is the director of KAPSARC’s Energy and Macroeconomics program. From October 2018 to March 2019, he was KAPSARC’s interim… Axel is the director of KAPSARC's Energy and Macroeconomics program. From October 2018 to March 2019, he was KAPSARC's interim vice president of research. Axel joined KAPSARC in 2011, after spending 15 years at IFP Energies Nouvelles in France, where he led research, consulting and training projects. Axel received his Ph.D. in economics from the Pantheon-Sorbonne University in Paris. He undertakes applied research that combines methodological innovation with practical relevance for policymaking. His research is focused on energy economics, policy, finance, oil pricing, and energy-exporting economies. Axel has been published extensively, with over 40 peer-reviewed journal papers to his name.

Expertise

  • Energy modelling
  • Energy economics
  • Energy policy
  • Oil pricing and finance

Publications See all Axel Pierru’s publications

Frederic Murphy

Frederic Murphy

Visiting Researcher Frederic is professor emeritus, Fox School of Business, Temple University, where he taught for 30 years. He was a visiting… Frederic is professor emeritus, Fox School of Business, Temple University, where he taught for 30 years. He was a visiting researcher fellow at KAPSARC where he is participating in the development of energy models and writing policy analyses in a range of areas, including domestic energy use in Saudi Arabia, market power in world oil markets, designing and managing income stabilization funds, and China's and India's energy economies. He works mainly in the area of energy-market forecasting and energy policy analysis. Prior to joining Temple, he was at the Energy Information Administration (EIA) of the U.S. Department of Energy and its predecessor, the Federal Energy Administration, where he headed the group that did the economic impact analyses of the bills and laws passed during the Carter administration and developed and ran the forecasting models then used for policy analyses and the forecasts in the EIA Annual Report. He has authored over 100 refereed articles. In one study he was ranked in the 20 most published researchers in his field over a fifty-year span. He was the editor in chief of the journal Interfaces, an area editor for Operations Research, and the Informs Journal on computing, and the Vice President of Publications for INFORMS and its predecessor society, Operations Research Society of America. He has been involved in studying local economic policy issues, including advising the Tax Reform Commission of the City of Philadelphia, estimating the impact on jobs of building casinos in Philadelphia, and political redistricting. He also did a queueing study oil tank vessels on the Delaware River.

Share

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you