• ‪البرنامج الرئيس تحولات الطاقة والطاقة الكهربائية
  • ‪الاهتمامات البحثية أسواق الكهرباء، الاقتصاد الكلي، نمذجة التوازن العام الحاسوبية، وسياسات المناخ

‪السيرة الذاتية

صلاح الدين باحث مشارك في برنامج تحولات الطاقة والطاقة الكهربائية. تشمل مجالات بحوثه الحالية نمذجة سوق الكهرباء السعودي وإصلاحات سوق الكهرباء والإطار التنظيمي.

عمل صلاح الدين قبل انضمامه لكابسارك باحثًا مشاركًا في مختبر التابع للمركز الوطني الفرنسي للبحث العلمي CIRED في فرنسا، حيث ركز على نمذجة الاقتصاد والطاقة المتكاملة. وقد عمل أيضًا باحثًا في مجموعة كهرباء فرنسا ضمن شعبة البحث والتطوير. وكان جزءًا من أسواق الطاقة التابعة للشعبة ووحدة التنظيم البيئي التي تركز على الأسواق الناشئة.

صلاح الدين حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة باريس ساكلاي في فرنسا، وعلى درجة الماجستير في اقتصاديات الطاقة من جامعة مونبلييه في فرنسا، وفي الاقتصاد القياسي للأسواق المالية من كلية الاقتصاد في جامعة إيكس مارسيليا في فرنسا.

الإصدارات

عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪صلاح
  • ورقة نقاش
  • تحليلات البيانات
  • رؤية على الأحداث
  • تعليق
  • المقالات المحكمة الخارجية
  • مجموعة الفكر
توقع الطلب القطاعي السعودي على الكهرباء في عام 2030 باستخدام نموذج التوازن العام القابل للحساب

توقع الطلب القطاعي السعودي على الكهرباء في عام 2030 باستخدام نموذج التوازن العام القابل للحساب

يعد توقع الطلب المستقبلي على الكهرباء أمرًا أساسيًا لتخطيط قطاع الطاقة، حيث ان هذه التوقعات تحدد متطلبات الاستثمار في السعة وتوسعات البنية التحتية ذات الصلة. كما ان الكهرباء غير قابلة للتخزين الاقتصادي بكميات كبيرة في الوقت الحالي. وبالتالي، يجب مراعاة المحفزات الأساسية للطلب على الكهرباء والتحولات المحتملة في السوق بعناية لتقليل تكاليف نظام الطاقة.  

9th September 2021
تقييم دور مصادر الطاقة المتجددة في تقليل الانبعاثات في قطاع الطاقة السعودي باستخدام تحسين الأعداد الصحيحة المختلط

تقييم دور مصادر الطاقة المتجددة في تقليل الانبعاثات في قطاع الطاقة السعودي باستخدام تحسين الأعداد الصحيحة المختلط

يُنظر إلى تقنيات الطاقة المتجددة (RE) على أنها وسيلة مهمة للحد من الانبعاثات المرتبطة بقطاع الطاقة. باستخدام تحسين الأعداد الصحيحة المختلط، نقوم بتقييم إلى أي مدى تقلل الطاقة المتجددة من انبعاثات الكربون في قطاع الطاقة السعودي.  

2nd June 2021
تسجيل أول انخفاض في الطلب على الكهرباء  بالمملكة العربية السعودية

تسجيل أول انخفاض في الطلب على الكهرباء بالمملكة العربية السعودية

زاد استهلاك الكهرباء في المملكة العربية السعودية بشكل سريع ومستمر منذ عام 1990م، بمعدل متوسط ​​بلغت نسبته حوالي 6٪ سنويًا . ويعد هذا المعدل مرتفعًا إلى حد كبير عند مقارنته بمتوسط ​​معدل النمو العالمي الذي  بلغ 3٪ و4.8٪ في الدول المتقدمة. ولقد أنشأت المملكة العربية السعودية في عام 2012م المركز السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة (SEEC) والبرنامج السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة (SEEP) للحد من الاستهلاك غير الفعال للكهرباء.

12th October 2020
الطلب على الكهرباء في المملكة العربية السعودية لعاميّ 2018-2019 بناءً على بيانات الشركة السعودية للكهرباء

الطلب على الكهرباء في المملكة العربية السعودية لعاميّ 2018-2019 بناءً على بيانات الشركة السعودية للكهرباء

شهد الطلب على الكهرباء في المملكة العربية السعودية نموًا بنسبة 5 ٪ سنويًا في الفترة ما بين عامي  2010 و2018م نفذت الحكومة السعودية إصلاحين من إصلاحات أسعار الطاقة في عام 2016م وعام 2018م، وقد تضمنا زيادة كبيرة في تعريفة الكهرباء. طبقت الحكومة السعودية العديد من تدابير الكفاءة في استخدام الطاقة للتخفيف من نمو الطلب على الكهرباء، واستقر الطلب على الكهرباء في المملكة منذ عام 2016م عند حوالي300 تيراواط في الساعة.

21st June 2020
تأثير إجراءات الإغلاق على طلب الكهرباء بعد انتشار كوفيد- 19 : الرؤى العالمية، والتأثيرات على المملكة العربية السعودية

تأثير إجراءات الإغلاق على طلب الكهرباء بعد انتشار كوفيد- 19 : الرؤى العالمية، والتأثيرات على المملكة العربية السعودية

يعتمد تأثير حظر التجول والإغلاق نتيجة انتشار كوفيد-19 -على إجمالي طلب الكهرباء- على العديد من العوامل، وتقدم هذه الرؤية على الأحداث موجزًا للآثار المباشرة للطلب في مناطق محددة حول العالم بسبب إجراءات الإغلاق المتخذة. وسنقدم لاحقاً في رؤية أخرى على الأحداث العديد من السيناريوهات لتطور الطلب على الكهرباء في المملكة العربية السعودية لما تبقى من عام 2020م.

11th June 2020
إذا كانت قيمة الطاقة المتجددة تنخفض، فلماذا ترتفع أسعار الكهرباء؟

إذا كانت قيمة الطاقة المتجددة تنخفض، فلماذا ترتفع أسعار الكهرباء؟

  في هذا التعليق، نناقش تأثير تبني الطاقة المتجددة على أسعار الكهرباء للمستخدم النهائي مدفوعة بالتطور الملحوظ في الدول الأوروبية منذ عام 2000. ونختتم بمناقشة حول كيفية استفادة المملكة العربية السعودية من تطويرها للطاقة المتجددة.

6th June 2021
نظرة عامة على الطلب السعودي على الكهرباء (1970-2018)

نظرة عامة على الطلب السعودي على الكهرباء (1970-2018)

يشهد طلب المملكة العربية السعودية على الكهرباء تغيرات غير مسبوقة. في السنوات الأخيرة، نفذت الحكومة العديد من إجراءات الكفاءة وإصلاحات الأسعار للحد من نمو الطلب. بدأت هذه الإجراءات في تحقيق نتائج ملموسة في عام 2016. وبعد عقود من النمو السريع، بدأ الطلب على الكهرباء في المملكة في الاستقرار وانخفض في النهاية للمرة الأولى على الإطلاق في عام 2019 (Soummane 2020). يتتبع هذا التعليق تطور الطلب السعودي على الكهرباء خلال نصف القرن الماضي.

29th March 2021

ورش العمل ‬‪‬‫ذات العلاقة

‪عرض جميع ورش العمل
31 مارس

الاتجاهات المستقبلية للطلب السعودي والإقليمي على…

الحلقة الافتراضية بالاشتراك مع الشركة السعودية للكهرباء إنّ فهم الطلب على الكهرباء على المدى الطويل وتوقعه من العناصر الأساسية لتوسيع نظام الطاقة. كما أنه أداة لتخطيط الاستثمار وصياغة سياسات الطاقة. كان الطلب على الكهرباء في السعودية ينمو نمواً سريعاً على مدى العقود الماضية لعدة أسباب: انخفاض رسوم الكهرباء المنظمة، والسكان، والنمو الاقتصادي الذي أدى إلى […]

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Primary Program Energy Transitions and Electric Power
  • Research Interests Electricity Markets, Macroeconomics, CGE Modeling and Climate Policy

Biography

Salaheddine is a Research Associate in KAPSARC’s Energy Transitions and Electric Power program. His current research focuses on modeling the Saudi electricity market, including reforms and regulatory frameworks.

Before joining KAPSARC, Salaheddine worked as a research associate at the Centre for International Research on Environment and Development (CIRED), a National Centre for Scientific Research lab in Paris. He focused on integrated economy–energy modeling. He also worked as an economist in the energy markets and environmental regulation unit of Électricité de France (Paris), a utility group.

Salaheddine holds a Ph.D. in Economics from Paris-Saclay University (France), an M.Sc. in Energy Economics and Law from the University of Montpellier (France), and an M.Sc. in Finance from the Aix-Marseille School of Economics (France).

Publications

See all Salaheddine’s publications
  • Discussion papers
  • Data Insights
  • Instant Insight
  • Commentaries
  • KAPSARC journal article
  • Think20 (T20)
Cross-seasonal Fuel Savings from Load Shifting in the Saudi Industrial Sector

Cross-seasonal Fuel Savings from Load Shifting in the Saudi Industrial Sector

Load shifting, that is, moving demand from peak to off-peak hours, is an important type of demand response. It can reduce the overall operating costs of a power system and improve the reliability of the power grid. This study estimates the financial implications of load shifting in the Saudi industrial sector. We use a national Saudi power system dispatch optimization model to simulate three scenarios. With this model, we quantify the impacts of shifting industrial loads from the peak summer to the off-peak winter months, keeping industrial electricity tariffs unchanged.    

11th April 2022
Projecting Saudi Sectoral Electricity Demand in 2030 Using a Computable General Equilibrium Model

Projecting Saudi Sectoral Electricity Demand in 2030 Using a Computable General Equilibrium Model

Projecting future demand for electricity is central to power sector planning, as these projections inform capacity investment requirements and related infrastructure expansions. Electricity is not currently economically storable in large volumes. Thus, the underlying drivers of electricity demand and potential market shifts must be carefully considered to minimize power system costs.

9th September 2021
Saudi Electricity Demand Drops for the First Time on Record

Saudi Electricity Demand Drops for the First Time on Record

Since 1990, Saudi Arabia’s electricity consumption has risen rapidly and consistently, at an average rate of around 6% per year. This growth rate is considerably high when compared with the global average growth rate of 3% and 4.8% in developed countries. In 2012, Saudi Arabia established the Saudi Energy Efficiency Center (SEEC) and Saudi Energy Efficiency Program (SEEP) to curb inefficient electricity consumption.

12th October 2020
Saudi Electricity Demand for 2018-2019 based on Saudi Electricity Company Data

Saudi Electricity Demand for 2018-2019 based on Saudi Electricity Company Data

Saudi electricity demand grew by 5% per year between 2010 and 2018. The Saudi government implemented two energy price reforms, in 2016 and 2018, which included significant electricity tariff hikes. The government also implemented a range of efficiency measures to mitigate electricity demand growth. Since 2016, Saudi electricity demand has flattened at around 300 terawatthours (TWh).      

21st June 2020
Impact of the COVID-19 Lockdown on Electricity Demand: Global Insights and Implications for Saudi Arabia

Impact of the COVID-19 Lockdown on Electricity Demand: Global Insights and Implications for Saudi Arabia

The impact of curfews and lockdowns on total electricity demand as a result of the spread of COVID-19 depends on many factors. This insight provides a summary of the immediate demand impacts in selected regions around the world due to lockdown measures. We will follow this up with a second insight, presenting several scenarios for the evolution of electricity demand in Saudi Arabia for the rest of 2020.  

11th June 2020
Overview of Saudi Electricity Demand (1970–2018)

Overview of Saudi Electricity Demand (1970–2018)

Saudi Arabia’s demand for electricity is undergoing unprecedented changes. In recent years, the government has implemented several efficiency measures and pricing reforms to curb demand growth. These measures started delivering concrete results in 2016. After decades of rapid growth, the Kingdom’s electricity demand started flattening and eventually fell for the first time on record in 2019 (Soummane 2020). This commentary traces the evolution of Saudi electricity demand over the past half-century.  

29th March 2021

Related workshops

See all workshops
31 Mar

Future Trends of Saudi and Regional…

This webinar is co-hosted with the Saudi Electricity Company (SEC) Understanding and projecting long-term electricity demand is a fundamental input for power system expansion. It is also a tool for investment planning and energy policy formulation. Saudi and the region’s electricity demand has been growing at a fast pace over the past decades for several […]

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you