• Episode number 11
  • المدة 7:45
  • ‪اللغة Arabic
  • البيانات 2nd March 2021

نص الحلقة:

النفط الصخري هو اسم آخر للمصطلح التقني "النفط المحكم" الذي يصنف بكونه حلوًا نظرًا لانخفاض محتواه من الكبريت عند نسبة (0.2٪) ، كما أنه خفيف لكونه قليل اللزوجة بمتوسط قياس للكثافة النوعية يتراوح بين (35) درجة مئوية و (55) درجة مئوية. ويوجد النفط المحكم الخفيف في العديد من التكوينات الجيولوجية حول العالم، ولكن الاحتياطيات الهائلة منه في الولايات المتحدة تقع في أحواض بيرميان وإيجل فورد وباكن. ولقد أصبح النفط المحكم الخفيف في هذه المناطق أكثر جدوى من الناحية الاقتصادية للإنتاج خلال العقدين الماضيين، بفضل الابتكار التقني، وسهولة الوصول إلى التمويل منخفض التكلفة، وأسعار النفط الخام المرتفعة، وتحسن قدرة المنتجين المستقلين الصغار على تطوير تدفقات العمل التنموية الفعالة القابلة للتكرار.

وبالإضافة إلى العوامل المذكورة أعلاه، ألغى الكونجرس الأمريكي  في عام (2015م) حظرًا فرضه بنفسه منذ (40) عاماً على تصدير النفط الأمريكي، ما سمح لمنتجي النفط الأمريكيين بالمنافسة في الأسواق الدولية. ولقد دفعت هذه الظروف مجتمعة إنتاج النفط المحكم الخفيف إلى ذروته التي تجاوزت ثمانية ملايين برميل يوميًا في أوائل عام (2020م)، فتحولت الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية من مستورد صافٍ إلى مُصدّر صافٍ للنفط. وأدى ازدهار إنتاج النفط المحكم الخفيف إلى تغير المشهد في قطاع النفط والغاز الأمريكي على امتداد كامل سلسلة قيمة النفط، مما فرض العديد من التحديات الفريدة، مثل إعادة تشكيل مصافي النفط وتحسينها، وعقبات المرحلة الوسيطة والاستثمار فيها، وتحولات التدفقات التجارية.

بالنسبة للتحدي الأول، واجه إدخال كميات كبيرة من النفط الخفيف في عمليات التقطير الحالية لمصافي النفط بعض العقبات الخطيرة، فهناك عدة أنواع من المصافي وكل منها عبارة عن مصنع معالجة مصمم بشكل فريد لاستيعاب نوع معين من المدخلات الخام، وتعمل المصفاة على إعادة تشكيل الخام لتنتج مخرجات مختلفة من المشتقات النفطية. وتكمن المشكلة في أن النفط المحكم الخفيف في الولايات المتحدة يحتوي على نسبة عالية من النافتا وكمية منخفضة للغاية من الرواسب الثقيلة التي تختلف تمامًا عن بعض أنواع النفط الخفيفة المستوردة التي عالجتها سابقًا مصافي التكرير الأمريكية.

توقعت صناعة النفط في الولايات المتحدة حدوث هذه المشكلة منذ بداية الألفية الثانية، فزادت تدريجيًا من قدرتها على معالجة خامات النفط المحكم الخفيف، إذ تشير البيانات المتوفرة في يوليو من عام (2020م) إلى أن قرابة (37٪) من المدخلات لمصافي التكرير الأمريكية تألفت من خام النفط المحكم الخفيف، في حين أن (23٪) منها اعتمدت على النفط التقليدي، بينما كانت الـ (40٪) المتبقية مؤلفة من النفط المستورد الثقيل. وبالمثل، كثفت العديد من مصافي التكرير الأمريكية في العقدين الماضيين استثماراتها في مشاريع مرونة النفط الخام لمعالجة قوائم أوسع من النفط الخام، مثل النفط الحامض الثقيل والنفط الثقيل الكندي الأرخص ثمنًا.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك حُسِّنت قدرة المصافي للمعالجة من خلال مزج النفط المحكم الخفيف بالنفط الخام الثقيل، بناءً على الجودة والإنتاجية وفرق التكلفة. ويعتبر مزج النفط المحكم مع الخام الشمعي الثقيل أمرًا منطقيًا، إذ يمكن أن يؤدي المزيج إلى تكوين ملف معالجة مرغوب لدى العديد من المصافي. إلا أن ذلك يمكن أن يؤدي في نفس الوقت إلى مشكلات التوافق إذا لم يُحسن المزج، ويتطلب عدم التوافق هذا إعادة تشكيلٍ واسعة النطاق ومبادرات تحسين لمصافي النفط الحالية.

وبهذا تمكنت المصافي الأمريكية من التخفيف من العديد من تحديات المعالجة الخاصة بالنفط المحكم الخفيف الجديد، مثل تلوث المعدات والمشاكل الناجمة عن زيادة الضغط على النظام والوحدات غير المستغلة. ولقد أدت هذه الخطوات إلى تحسين هوامش الربح بشكل كبير بسبب استخدام مواد خام أرخص. ولكن على الرغم من أن معظم المصافي في ساحل الخليج الأمريكي عملت تدريجيًا على زيادة النفط المحكم الخفيف في المدخلات الخام لمصافي التكرير، إلا أنه كان من المستحيل على جميع المصافي مواكبة ذلك الطلب لعدة أسباب، أهمها التحدي الثاني وهو "العقبات في المرحلة الوسيطة".

إن أحد القيود الرئيسة التي تحول دون الاستخدام الكامل للنفط المحكم الخفيف هي عدم وجود نظام خطوط الأنابيب الذي يربط بين الحقول المنتجة والمصافي، إذ تستخدم السكك الحديدية والشاحنات حاليًا لنقل النفط وتعويض النقص، مما يؤثر على السعر والطلب. وكذلك يمكن للمشاريع المستقبلية التي تدمج مجمعات التكرير والبتروكيماويات في الولايات المتحدة التغلب على تحديات النفط المحكم الخفيف في مرحلة المصب، وذلك باستخدام تصاميم وحدة معالجة متوافقة مثل التعدين والسعة، مما سيسهم في زيادة الكفاءة، وخفض التكلفة، وزيادة تكامل التدفق، وتطوير تآزر المعالجة، وتحقيق المرونة التشغيلية.

يمكن للمبادرات الجديدة، مثل منشآت تحويل الخام إلى مواد كيميائية، أن توفر عوائد أكبر من المنتجات النهائية باستخدام عمليات التحويل المحسنة. وفي غضون سنوات قليلة، قد يكون لدى الولايات المتحدة أعلى معدل نمو لصناعة البتروكيماويات على مستوى العالم، ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى ارتفاع إنتاجها من النفط المحكم والغاز الصخري.

للاطلاع على الدراسة كاملة

‪المؤلف: مالك سيليمانخل

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Episode number 11
  • Duration 7:45
  • Language Arabic
  • Date 2nd March 2021
Podcast script:
 
Shale oil is another name for the more technical term: light tight oil (LTO). It is characterized by being sweet due to its low sulfur content of 0.2%, and light for being less viscous with average API gravity between 35o and 55o API. It exists in many geological formations around the world, but the vast reserves of LTO in the United States are located in the Permian, Eagle Ford, and Bakken basins. In these regions, LTO became more economically viable to produce during the last couple of decades, thanks to technological innovation, easy access to low-cost financing, high crude oil price environments, and efficient, repeatable upstream development workflows by small independent producers.
   
In addition to the aforementioned factors, the United States congress repealed a 40-year-old, self-imposed ban on oil exports back in 2015, which allowed the American oil producers to compete in the international markets. These conditions drove the production of LTO to its peak, which exceeded 8 million barrels per day in early 2020, thereby transforming the United States of America from a net importer to a net exporter of petroleum. The LTO crude production boom transformed the landscape of the whole U.S. oil and gas sector across the entire oil value chain, which posed several unique challenges, such as oil refineries reconfiguration and optimization, midstream bottlenecks and investments, and shifting trade flows.
   
As for the first challenge, the introduction of large quantities of LTO to the current installations of oil refineries faced some serious obstacles. There are several types of refineries; each is a uniquely designed processing plant that is tailored to accommodate a certain type of input crudes, and works to reform crude to produce different outputs of oil derivatives. The problem is that the U.S.’s LTO contains a high content of naphtha and very low heavy residue yields, which is very different from some of the imported light oils that the U.S. refineries are used to processing historically.
   
The U.S.’s oil industry has foreseen this issue since the early 2000s, and has gradually increased its processing capacity of LTO crudes. In July 2020, about 37% of the U.S. refineries’ diet consisted of LTO crude, while 23% of it was based on conventional oil, and the remaining 40% was imported heavy oil. Likewise, many U.S. refineries in the past two decades have intensified their investments in crude oil resilience projects to process broader slates of crude oil, such as the much cheaper heavy sour and Canadian heavy oil.
   
Additionally, the refineries’ processing capacity was optimized by blending the LTO with heavier crude oils, based on quality, yield, and cost differentials. Blending tight oils with heavy waxy crude makes sense, as the blend can result in a desirable processing profile for many refiners. However, this can also lead to compatibility issues if blending was not optimized. This lack of compatibility required large-scale reconfiguration and optimization initiatives of the existing oil refineries.
   
Hence, the American refineries were able to mitigate several processing challenges of the new LTO, such as equipment fouling, high system pressure issues, and underutilized units. This move significantly improved the profit margins due to the utilization of cheaper crude feedstock. However, although most of the refineries on the U.S. Gulf Coast were gradually increasing the LTO in their refineries’ crude diet, it was impossible for all refineries to keep pace due to several reasons, the most important of which is the second challenge: midstream bottlenecks.
   
One of the main constraints that prevent the full utilization of LTO is the lack of a pipeline system linking producing fields and refineries. To make up for the shortage, railways and trucks are currently used to transport oil, which in turn affects the price and the demand for it. Similarly, future projects that integrate the U.S. refining and petrochemical complexes can overcome the downstream challenges of LTO, by using compatible processing unit designs such as metallurgy and capacity. It will also contribute to increased efficiency, decreased cost, increased stream integration, processing synergies, and operational flexibility.
   
New initiatives, such as crude-to-chemicals facilities, could provide greater yields from final products by using optimized conversion processes. In a matter of few years, the U.S. may have the highest petrochemical industry growth globally, mainly due to the rise in its production of tight oil and shale gas.
   
To view the full study
   
Author: Malik Selemankhel

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you