• Episode number 06
  • المدة 6:65
  • ‪اللغة English
  • البيانات 17th December 2020

نص الحلقة:

أثبتت التجارب السابقة أن إصلاح هيكلة صناعة الطاقة الكهربائية هو الجانب الأكثر صعوبة في عملية التحول إلى سوق كهرباء تنافسية؛ إذ تعمل ثلاثة قطاعات أعمال مستقلة معًا لتوصيل الكهرباء إلى المستخدم النهائي، وهي: قطاع توليد الكهرباء، وقطاع نقلها، وقطاع توزيعها. وتحتكر الشركة السعودية للكهرباء جميع هذه الوظائف في المملكة العربية السعودية، فهي شركة متكاملة رأسيًا وتعاني نتيجة لذلك من عدة تحديات في الأنظمة والكفاءة. ولهذا نصت خريطة الطريق لإعادة الهيكلة الصادرة عن هيئة تنظيم الكهرباء والإنتاج المزدوج على فصل الأنشطة التنافسية وغير التنافسية للشركة، عن طريق فصل أنشطة التوليد والتوزيع، مع الحفاظ على احتكار نشاط النقل.

بداية، تشمل إصلاحات قطاع التوليد مبادرات تنويع مصادر الطاقة؛ إذ ترمي إلى دمج مصادر الطاقة المتجددة في مزيج الطاقة السعودي، والسماح لمحطات الطاقة الأخرى المملوكة للقطاع الخاص بدخول السوق، والسماح بالتداول المباشر للكهرباء بين المولدين الأساسيين وكبار المستهلكين. وحاليًا تصل نسبة قدرة توليد الكهرباء المملوكة لجهات غير تابعة للشركة السعودية للكهرباء إلى 35٪ من مجمل سعة التوليد في المملكة.

أما إصلاحات قطاع النقل فهي أكثر تعقيدًا في طبيعتها؛ إذ ستحدد ديناميكيات سوق الكهرباء السعودية في المستقبل، فلقد أنشأت الشركة السعودية للكهرباء شركة مستقلة منفصلة تسمى الشركة الوطنية لنقل الكهرباء في عام 2012م كجزء من الإصلاحات، وهي شركة مسؤولة عن تشغيل النظام حاليًا وتملك شبكة نقل الكهرباء في المملكة التي توسعت بدورها بنسبة تزيد عن 50٪ منذ عام 2000م؛ إذ تربط أكثر من 99٪ من شبكة الكهرباء بـ 83,682 كيلومترًا من الخطوط الهوائية أو الأسلاك تحت الأرض، سواءً كانت خطوط الضغط العالي أو الخطوط تحت الأرض، وتملك 1070 محطة فرعية في عام 2018م. كما تعمل الشركة الوطنية لنقل الكهرباء كمشغل نقل مستقل يحافظ على سياسة وصول مفتوحة وغير متحيزة لقدرة النقل الممنوحة للمشاركين المؤهلين.

ولكن خارطة الطريق السعودية للوصول إلى سوق كهرباء تنافسية تتطلب إنشاء مشغل نظام مستقل بدل أن يكون مملوكًا لأحد الشركات، ويجب أن يولد موارده المالية ذاتيًا ليتمكن من أن يمثل دورًا حاسمًا في إنشاء وتشغيل سوق الكهرباء الفورية التنافسية بالجملة، وهذا سيضمن استقلالية العمليات وقرارات الاستثمار في الأعمال التجارية والوصول غير التمييزي إلى الشبكة. وعلاوة على ذلك، أنشأت الشركة السعودية للكهرباء الشركة السعودية لشراء الطاقة في عام 2017م لتكون المشتري الرئيس والوحيد للكهرباء من جميع المولدين في السعودية، وإن أهم دور لها هو شراء وبيع الكهرباء والوقود والخدمات، وتطوير خطط توليد الكهرباء للعام المقبل، وهي مفوضة حصريًا لإدارة استيراد وتصدير الكهرباء عبر خطوط الربط الإقليمية. وستمثل هذه الشركة دورًا انتقاليًا فقط حتى تصل السوق إلى مرحلة التحرير الكامل.

وأخيرًا، تشمل إصلاحات قطاع التوزيع السماح للعديد من تجار تجزئة الكهرباء بالعمل في الأجزاء التنافسية من البلاد، مع الإبقاء على الممارسة الاحتكارية في المناطق الأقل جاذبية. ويتوقع أن تؤدي هذه المنافسة إلى تحسين الخدمات للمستهلك النهائي، وانخفاض أسعار الكهرباء، وظهور المزيد من نماذج الأعمال المبتكرة. علاوة على ذلك، طورت هيئة تنظيم الكهرباء والإنتاج المزدوج "استراتيجية العدادات الذكية والشبكات الذكية" التي تهدف إلى السماح بدمج التوليد الموزع للطاقة الكهروضوئية من قبل المستهلكين في الشبكة، والحد بشكل كبير من هدر الطاقة في الشبكة. ومن المتوقع أن تنشر هذه الاستراتيجية 10 ملايين عداد ذكي على مدار الخمسة عشر عامًا القادمة بإجمالي تكلفة يصل إلى 7.5 مليار ريال سعودي، وقد قيمت الفوائد المباشرة من النشر الضخم للعدادات الذكية بمبلغ يصل إلى 9.16 مليار ريال سعودي. ويعد مشروع العدادات الذكية أحد أهم مشاريع التحول الرقمي في المملكة، وسيورد ما يقارب ثلث المكونات المستخدمة لبناء العدادات الذكية من مزودين محليين ضمن مسعى تطوير المحتوى المحلي.

والجدير بالذكر أن المملكة العربية السعودية ليست الدولة الأولى التي تمر بعملية الإصلاح هذه، إذ يمكنها التعلم من تجارب الدول السابقة؛ فقد أخذت الدول ذات الهياكل والقدرات الاقتصادية المختلفة خطوات وأهدافًا صغيرة مختلفة في طريقها لإصلاح قطاعات الكهرباء. إلا أنها تتفق جميعًا على الأهداف العامة في إنشاء صناعات مستقرة ماليًا، وتهيئة الظروف الملائمة لمشاركة القطاع الخاص، وتحسين كفاءة الصناعات وقدرتها التنافسية واستدامتها.

 ‪المؤلفون: شاهد حسن، تركي العقيل و نواز بيربوكس

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Episode number 06
  • Duration 6:65
  • Language English
  • Date 17th December 2020
Podcast script:
 
Reforming the structure of the power industry proved to be the most challenging aspect of the roadmap to reach a competitive electricity market. The industry comprises three distinct power sectors that work together to get electricity to the end-user, which are: power generation, transmission, and distribution. All of these sectors were monopolized by the Saudi Electricity Company, which was a vertically integrated company that suffered from efficiency and systematic challenges. The Saudi restructuring plan envisioned separating competitive and non-competitive activities of the company, by unbundling generation and distribution activities, while maintaining a monopoly of the transmission.
 
The generation sector’s reforms included energy source diversification initiatives by integrating renewables in the Saudi energy mix, allowing other privately-owned power plants to enter the market, and allowing direct electricity trading by big generators and consumers. Currently, 35% of the Saudi power generation’s capacity is owned by non-Saudi Electricity Company generators.
 
On the other hand, the transmission sector’s reforms are more complex in nature, as they will determine the dynamics of the future Saudi electricity market. As a part of the reforms, the Saudi Electricity Company established a separate independent company called the National Electricity Transmission Company in 2012. It is currently the system operator and the owner of the Kingdom's transmission network, which has increased by over 50% since 2000, interconnecting more than 99% of the grid with 83,682 circuit-kilometers of transmission lines (overhead and underground lines) and with 1070 sub-station­­­­­s in 2018. The National Electricity Transmission Company acts as an independent transmission operator that maintains an open and unbiased access policy to eligible participants' transmission capacity.
 
However, Saudi Arabia's roadmap to a competitive electricity market requires creating an independent system operator, which should generate its own resources and play a critical role in establishing and operating the wholesale competitive spot electricity market, by ensuring the independence of operations and investment decisions of the business, and guaranteeing non-discriminatory access to the network. Furthermore, the Saudi Electricity Company established the Saudi Power Procurement Company in 2017 to be the main and single buyer of electricity from all generators in Saudi. Its prominent role is to buy and sell electricity, fuel, and services, and develop year-ahead generation plans, with an exclusive mandate to manage the import and export of electricity across regional interconnections. This company will serve only a transitional role until the market reaches full liberalization.
 
The distribution sector’s reforms include allowing multiple retailers of electricity to operate in the competitive parts of the country, while maintaining a monopoly in the less attractive areas. This competition will lead to improved services to the end consumer, lower electricity prices, and more innovative business models. Moreover, the authority developed its "Smart Metering and Smart Grids Strategy,” which aims to allow for the integration of PV distributed generation by consumers into the grid, and significantly reduce the grid's power waste. This strategy is expected to deploy 10 million smart meters over the next 15 years, with a cost reaching up to 7.5 billion Saudi Riyals. However, the direct benefits from a massive rollout of smart meters were assessed to be 9.16 billion Saudi riyals. The Smart Metering Project is one of the single most significant digital transformation projects in the Kingdom, and nearly one-third of the components used to build smart meters will be sourced locally.
 
It is worth mentioning that Saudi Arabia is not the first country to go through this reformation process, and it can learn from previous international experiences. Countries with different economic structures and capabilities take different steps and micro-objectives in their way of reforming the electricity sectors. However, they all agree on the overall goals of establishing financially stable industries, making conditions conducive for private sector participation, and improving the industries' efficiency, competitiveness, and sustainability.
 
To view the full study
 
Authors: Shahid HasanTurki Alaqeel and Nawaz Peerbocus

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you