• Episode number 09
  • المدة 6:49
  • ‪اللغة English
  • البيانات 3rd February 2021

نص الحلقة:

إن المملكة العربية السعودية ملتزمة بالانتقال إلى نظام طاقة أنظف وأكثر استدامة. إذ تُعد الطاقة مدخلًا أساسيًا في معظم عمليات الإنتاج في القطاع الصناعي، وعنصرًا لا غنى عنه في تنويع الصادرات وإستراتيجات استبدال الواردات. وقد قطعت المملكة العربية السعودية شوطًا كبيرًا في إطار رؤية 2030 من حيث تنويع مصادر الطاقة وزيادة المحتوى المحلي، وذلك من خلال تطوير قطاعات صناعية جديدة والاستفادة من سلاسل الإمداد الحالية. أما في الوقت الحاضر، فشهرة الهيدروجين الأخضر والأزرق تزايدت على مستوى دولي باعتبارهما صادرات قيمة ومصادر واعدة للطاقة النظيفة.

وللحصول على الهيروجين الأخضر، تغذي مصادر الطاقة المتجددة عمليات التحليل الكهربائي للماء وتفككه إلى جزيئات الهيدروجين والأكسجين. وتتطلب هذه العملية عددًا من العوامل التي نجدها متكاملة في المملكة العربية السعودية، ما يجعلها مثالية وجاهزة لاعتماده، ومنها وفرة أراضيها، وموقعها الأمثل ذو المعامل عال السعة لمصادر الطاقة المتجددة. كما يبدي القطاع الصناعي السعودي إقبالًا كبيرًا على تطوير إمكانات وتقنيات الهيدروجين الأزرق، الذي ينتج باستخدام الغاز الطبيعي عبر إصلاح بخار الميثان والتقاط النواتج الكربونية بالتزامن مع إعادة استخدامها أو تخزينها للاستخدام في وقت لاحق. ويمكن فيما بعد توظيف الهيدروجين الأخضر والأزرق للاستخدام المحلي للطاقة أو اعتبارهما مصدر دخل عير تصديرهما في شكل أمونيا للمشترين العالميين.

الهيدروجين هو ناقل للطاقة النظيفة ويمكنه توفير وتخزين كميات هائلة من الطاقة، ومن ثم استخدامها في قطاعات الصناعة والنقل والكهرباء. إلا أن اعتماد الهيدروجين ظل مقيدًا بتكاليفه المرتفعة إلى وقت قريب، حتى سُلط عليه الضوء مؤخرًا بعد الانخفاض الأخير الملحوظ في تكاليف مصادر الطاقة المتجددة، مما يجعل إنتاج الهيدروجين الأخضر أكثر جدوى من ذي قبل، لا سيما مع تصاعد سياسات حماية البيئة العالمية وتدابير التخفيف من تغير المناخ التي تزيد من تكاليف مصادر الطاقة التقليدية، ما ينعكس إيجابًا ويحسن النظرة المستقبلية للهيدروجين.

لهذه الأسباب مجتمعة تستطيع المملكة العربية السعودية أن تصبح أقل اعتمادًا على النفط المحلي بفضل إنتاج الهيدروجين الأخضر، لا سيما مع التوجه العالمي المستمر لخفض تكاليف توليد الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية، إذ تشير بيانات بلومبيرغ نيو إنرجي فايننس إلى انخفاض التكلفة الموحدة للهيدروجين الأخضر إلى متوسط دولار وعشري دولار أمريكي للكيلوغرام في عام 2050، بينما كان متوسط التكلفة يعادل ثلاثة دولارات ونصف دولار أمريكي (3.5) للكيوغرام في عام 2019.

يقوم صانعو السياسات السعوديون بتقييم التقدم الحالي للاستخدام الراهن أو المستقبلي لمشاريع الطاقة المتجددة في المملكة، وذلك بهدف تحقيق عوائد إيجابية على الاستثمار في تقنيات الهيدروجين ومنح المملكة العربية السعودية ميزة الريادة، ما يعينها في انتقالها من دولة تعتمد كثيرًا على النفط إلى دولة تعتمد على الكهرباء.

وفي هذا الشأن، أعلنت نيوم في شهر أغسطس من عام 2020 عن إنشاء مصنع سعودي للهيدروجين الأخضر بقيمة خمسة مليارات دولار أمريكي يعمل بسعة أربعة جيجاواط من الطاقة المتجددة، ويهدف إلى إنتاج 650 طنًا من الهيدروجين بحلول عام 2025 وتصديره للأسواق العالمية، ليكون أكبر مشروع هيدروجين في العالم. كما أعقب ذلك إعلان أرامكو السعودية في سبتمبر من عام 2020 عن تصديرها لليابان أربعين طنًا من الأمونيا الزرقاء عالية الجودة والمخصصة لاستخدامها في توليد الطاقة منعدمة الانبعاثات الكربونية، وهي الشحنة الأولى من نوعها في جميع أنحاء العالم.

تمر المملكة حاليًا بنقلة نوعية من خلال اعتمادها الهيدروجين وتفعيل الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون، فقد أيدت المملكة العربية السعودية خلال رئاستها لمجموعة العشرين تحولات الطاقة النظيفة من خلال الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون الذي يشمل أربع إستراتيجات وهي: أولًا: تقليل الكربون الذي يدخل الغلاف الجوي من خلال كفاءة الطاقة واستخدام إمدادات طاقة منعدمة الكربون، ثانيًا: إعادة استخدام الكربون من خلال احتجازه وتحويله إلى مادة أولية مفيدة. ثالثًا: إعادة تدوير الكربون بتحويله إلى سماد أو إسمنت أو وقود اصطناعي، رابعًا: إزالة الكربون من النظام وتخزينه جيولوجيًا أو كيميائيًا.

لاطلاع على الدراسة كاملة

‪المؤلفون: حاتم العطوي وعبد الإله درندري

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Episode number 09
  • Duration 6:49
  • Language English
  • Date 3rd February 2021
Podcast script:
 
Saudi Arabia is committed to transitioning to a cleaner and more sustainable energy system, which is an essential input into most industrial sectors' production processes, and is required for export diversification and import substitution strategies. Saudi Arabia has already made significant strides under Vision 2030 in terms of diversifying energy sources and increasing local content, by developing new industrial sectors and taking advantage of existing supply chains. At the moment, blue and green hydrogen are increasingly gaining international prominence as some of the most promising clean energy sources and exports.
 
Green hydrogen can be produced by utilizing renewable energy to break down water into hydrogen and oxygen molecules through electrolysis. Saudi Arabia is specially equipped to adopt green hydrogen because of its land abundance and its optimal location with a high capacity factor for renewable energy. Moreover, the Saudi industrial sector is showing a great appetite for developing blue hydrogen production capacity and technologies, which are based on creating blue hydrogen from natural gas through steam methane reformation, while simultaneously capturing any resultant carbon for later usage or storage. Later, green and blue hydrogen can be used for domestic energy usage or exported in the form of ammonia for global buyers as a source of income.
 
Hydrogen is a clean energy carrier; it could deliver or store enormous amounts of energy and then be used in the industry, transport, and electricity sectors. However, the adoption of hydrogen remains constrained by its costs. Recently, the last and noticeable decline in the costs of renewable energy sources has highlighted the potential of hydrogen and makes green hydrogen production more feasible than before. Moreover, the escalation of global environmental protection policies and climate change mitigation measures are leading to increasing the costs of conventional energy sources, hence, improving the outlook for hydrogen.
For all these reasons taken together, Saudi Arabia can rely less on domestic oil thanks to green hydrogen production, especially with the ongoing trend of decreasing costs of solar photovoltaic generation globally. Bloomberg New Energy Finance data indicates that the levelized cost of green hydrogen will drop to an average of $1.2 per kilogram by 2050, while the average cost was equivalent to $3.5 per kilogram in 2019. Saudi policymakers are currently assessing the current and possible progress for the future deployment of hydrogen production projects, and are aiming to achieve positive returns on investments in hydrogen technologies, as well as helping Saudi Arabia to gain the first-mover advantage in its transition from a petrostate to an electrostate.
 
In August of 2020, NEOM announced a $5 billion Saudi green hydrogen plant powered by 4 gigawatts of renewable energy. It aims to produce 650 tonnes of hydrogen by 2025 and export it to the global market to be the world's biggest hydrogen project announced so far. In addition, Saudi Aramco announced its first shipment of hydrogen from Saudi Arabia to Japan in September 2020. The 40 tonnes of high-grade blue ammonia in the shipment, which is meant for use in zero-carbon power generation, marks the first of its kind worldwide.
In this regard, Saudi Arabia is going through a paradigm shift by adopting hydrogen and activating the Circular Carbon Economy. During its G20 presidency, Saudi Arabia promoted clean energy transition through the Circular Carbon Economy, comprising 4(Rs) strategies. First, Reduce the amount of carbon entering the atmosphere through energy efficacy and using zero-carbon energy supplies. Second, Reuse carbon by capturing and converting it to another useful feedstock. Third, Recycle carbon by transforming it into fertilizer, cement, or synthetic fuels. Fourth, Remove carbon from the system and store it geologically or chemically.
 
To view the full study
 
Authors: Hatem Al Atawi and Abdulelah Darandary

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you