• ‪البرنامج الرئيس الاقتصاد الكلي وأنظمة الطاقة
  • ‪الاهتمامات البحثية الاقتصاد الكلي، النمو الاقتصادي، التجارة الدولية والاستثمار، تنمية الأسواق المالية، الطلب على الطاقة والسياسات العامة

‪السيرة الذاتية

عبد الإله خبير اقتصادي وباحث مشارك في مركز الملك عبد الله للدراسات والبحوث البترولية (كابسارك). يعمل بشكل أساسي في نمذجة الاقتصاد القياسي، وتركز بحوثه على الاقتصاد الكلي والطاقة، والتجارة الدولية وتدفقات الاستثمار، وتنمية الأسواق المالية، والسياسات العامة. وقد نشر بحوثًا في العديد من المجلات المحكمة.

وخلال رئاسة المملكة العربية السعودية لمجموعة العشرين، كان منسقًا وعضوًا ومؤلفًا مشاركًا في فريق عمل التجارة والاستثمار والنمو لمجموعة الفكر (T20). وكان قبل انضمامه  إلى كابسارك مستشارًا اقتصاديًا في شركة استشارية كبرى، حيث قدم تحليلات للسياسات والنمذجة والتنبؤ لآثار الإنفاق العام على المؤشرات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية.

 وهو حاصل على درجة الماجستير في الاقتصاد التطبيقي، ودرجة البكالوريوس في العلوم المالية والمصرفية من جامعة نورث داكوتا.

الإصدارات

عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪عبدالإله
  • ورقة نقاش
  • تقرير
  • رؤية على الأحداث
  • المقالات المحكمة الخارجية
  • مجموعة الفكر
التنويع الاقتصادي في إطار رؤية المملكة 2030

التنويع الاقتصادي في إطار رؤية المملكة 2030

شهد العقد الماضي سلسلة من التغييرات الجوهرية التي كان لها آثار عميقة على الاقتصادات الغنية بالموارد الهيدروكربونية. والإجابة العامة في البيئة المتغيرة بسيطة وهي: التكيف. ويعني هذا من منظور الاقتصاد الكلي تنويع الاقتصاد لتوسيع قاعدة الدخل وتقليل الاعتماد على العائدات النفطية. تبحث ورقة المناقشة هذه في مسارات التنويع المفضلة للاقتصاد السعودي، مع التركيز بصفة خاصة على التعديلات المتوقعة في التكوين القطاعي للاقتصاد والتحولات الاقتصادية الكلية الأوسع نطاقًا. ويعتمد تقييم الآثار المتوقعة للتنويع على الجدول المحدث لمدخلات ومخرجات رؤية المملكة 2030 الذي يبين بوضوح تام الهيكل المتغير للاقتصاد السعودي خلال العقد القادم. يقاس التقدم في التنويع الاقتصادي من خلال تطبيق مؤشر شانون-ويفر على الناتج المحلي الإجمالي القطاعي ودخل الأسرة. ونجري أيضًا تحليل الحساسية لدراسة آثار التنويع الاقتصادي المتوقع على مرونة الاقتصاد السعودي في مواجهة الصدمات الخارجية.

14th April 2021
الدوافع الإقليمية المتباينة للطلب على الكهرباء في المملكة العربية السعودية

الدوافع الإقليمية المتباينة للطلب على الكهرباء في المملكة العربية السعودية

ارتفع إجمالي استهلاك الكهرباء السكنية في المملكة العربية السعودية بشكل سريع على مدى العقود العديدة الماضية، ويرجع ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى الزيادات السكانية والنمو الاقتصادي السريع (مؤسسة النقد العربي السعودي 2019). كان النمو في استهلاك الكهرباء مدفوعًا -من بين عوامل أخرى- بالأسعار التي تديرها الحكومة، والتي ثبتت من حيث القيمة الاسمية لسنوات مع إضافة تعديلات بسيطة.

13th September 2020
How the World Trading System Promotes and Impedes the Diversification of Developing Countries

How the World Trading System Promotes and Impedes the Diversification of Developing Countries

Diversification is important because it is associated with economic growth and reduced volatility. Export diversification is especially important for developing countries as a source of foreign exchange and imported know-how. We examine how export diversification is affected by trade policies, including multilateral rules, regional trade agreements, and national measures.

11th December 2020
انتقال المملكة العربية السعودية إلى اقتصاد الهيدروجين :نقلة نوعية

انتقال المملكة العربية السعودية إلى اقتصاد الهيدروجين :نقلة نوعية

أحرزت المملكة العربية السعودية تقدما في خطة التنويع، رؤية السعودية 2030، من خلال اعتماد اقتصاد الهيدروجين. وتحرص على تفعيل الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون من خلال إنتاج الهيدروجين النظيف واستخدامه. ولقد أعلنت أرامكو السعودية في 27 من سبتمبر عن تصدير شحنتها الأولى من الهيدروجين من السعودية إلى اليابان المكونة من 40 طن من الأمونيا الزرقاء عالية الجودة والمخصصة لاستخدامها في توليد الطاقة الخالية من الكربون، وهي الشحنة الأولى من نوعها في جميع أنحاء العالم (Ratcliffe 2020).    

6th January 2021
الاستجابة المالية لجائحة كوفيد-19 في المملكة العربية السعودية

الاستجابة المالية لجائحة كوفيد-19 في المملكة العربية السعودية

أدت جائحة كوفيد– 19 والجهود المبذولة لمكافحتها إلى حدوث اضطرابات عالمية كبيرة. ويواجه واضعو السياسات معضلة لا يمكن حلها بسهولة؛ فمن جانب يحاولون حماية الصحة العامة من خلال احتواء انتشار الفيروس، ومن جانب آخر يتوجب عليهم ضمان استمرارية الأنشطة الاقتصادية للتخفيف من الأثر الاقتصادي لتفشي المرض. ونشير إلى أن هذه الأهداف المتضاربة والأساسية في الوقت نفسه تشكل تحديات جديدة للقادة الوطنيين؛ إذ يظل السؤال عن أفضل طريقة للتحكم في هذه المقايضات سؤالًا ملحًا لصناع القرار.

26th July 2020
تقدير تأثير جائحة كوفيد- 19 على الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للمملكة العربية السعودية

تقدير تأثير جائحة كوفيد- 19 على الناتج المحلي الإجمالي للمملكة العربية السعودية

أدت جائحة كوفيد-19 إلى تعطُّل الأنشطة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية في العالم بوتيرة لم يسبق لها مثيل. واكتفت الحركة الدولية للبضائع بما هو ضروري وعند الحد الأدنى، مقتصرةً في الغالب على إيصال المعدات الطبية والوقائية. وفرضت العديد من الحكومات حظرًا مشددًا على السفر للخارج بهدف الحد من خطر انتقال الفيروس، أو على الأقل خفض حركة قدوم الأشخاص المصابين.

10th June 2020
تأثير فيروس كورونا الجديد (Covid-19) على الطلب على النقل والبنزين

تأثير فيروس كورونا الجديد (Covid-19) على الطلب على النقل والبنزين

شهد العالم في الأشهر القليلة الماضية الآثار السلبية لفيروس كورونا الجديد (COVID-19)، حيث بدأ انتشار هذا المرض كوباء في الصين، وسرعان ما انتشر ليصبح جائحة عالمية، وتم تسجيل أكثر من أربعة ملايين حالة إصابة على مستوى العالم بحلول يوم 12 مايو عام 2020م، ولا يزال هذا العدد في ازدياد مستمر.

21st May 2020
إصلاحات أسعار الكهرباء للقطاع السكني: هل التأثير موحّد لمختلف المناطق وفئات الدخل؟

إصلاحات أسعار الكهرباء للقطاع السكني: هل التأثير موحّد لمختلف المناطق وفئات الدخل؟

تمكّنت الحكومة السعودية من تحقيق النجاح في خفض كثافة الطاقة بمساعدة كل من المركز السعودي لكفاءة الطاقة وسلسلة من إصلاحات أسعار الطاقة التي بدأت في عام 2016 . ومع ذلك، فإن الطريقة التي استجابت بها الأسر لإصلاحات أسعار الطاقة تستوجب النظر إليها بكل جدية.

15th December 2019

ورش العمل ‬‪‬‫ذات العلاقة

‪عرض جميع ورش العمل

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Primary Program Energy and Macroeconomics
  • Research Interests Macroeconomics, Economic Growth, International Trade and Investment, Financial Development, Energy Demand, and Public Policy

Biography

Abdulelah is an economist and Research Associate at the King Abdullah Petroleum Studies and Research Center (KAPSARC). He primarily works with econometric modeling, with a research focus on macroeconomics and energy, international trade and investment flows, financial development, and public policy. His work has been published in several peer-reviewed journals.

During the Saudi G20 presidency, he was the Task Force coordinator, member, and co-author for the Trade, Investment, and Growth Taskforce for Think20 (T20). Before joining KAPSARC, Abdulelah was an economic consultant for a major consultancy firm, where he provided policy analyses, modeling, and forecasting for the impacts of public spending on social and economic indicators.

Abdulelah holds a master’s degree in Applied Economics and a Bachelor of Banking and Financial Economics from the University of North Dakota.

Publications

See all Abdulelah’s publications
  • Discussion papers
  • Report
  • Instant Insights
  • KAPSARC journal articles
Economic Diversification Under Saudi Vision 2030

Economic Diversification Under Saudi Vision 2030

The last decade has brought a row of substantial changes that have profound implications for the hydrocarbon resource-rich economies. The general answer to a changing environment is: Adapt! From the macroeconomic perspective, this means diversifying the economy to broaden the income base and reduce the dependence on oil revenues. This discussion paper examines the preferred diversification paths for the Saudi economy, with a focus on the foreseen adjustments in the sectoral composition along with broader macroeconomic shifts. The evaluation of the expected diversification impacts is based on the updated Vision 2030 Input-Output Table that maps the changing economic structure over the coming decade. The advances in economic diversification are measured by applying the Shannon-Weaver index to sectoral GDP and household income. We also conduct a sensitivity analysis to examine the effects of the foreseen diversification on the resilience of the Saudi economy to external shocks.

14th April 2021
Regional Heterogeneous Drivers of Electricity Demand in Saudi Arabia

Regional Heterogeneous Drivers of Electricity Demand in Saudi Arabia

Aggregate residential electricity consumption in Saudi Arabia has increased rapidly over the past several decades, largely due to population increases and fast economic growth (SAMA 2019). The growth in electricity consumption has been driven, among other factors, by government-administered prices fixed in nominal terms for years with minor adjustments.

13th September 2020
How the World Trading System Promotes and Impedes the Diversification of Developing Countries

How the World Trading System Promotes and Impedes the Diversification of Developing Countries

Diversification is important because it is associated with economic growth and reduced volatility. Export diversification is especially important for developing countries as a source of foreign exchange and imported know-how. We examine how export diversification is affected by trade policies, including multilateral rules, regional trade agreements, and national measures.

11th December 2020
The Saudi Move into Hydrogen: A Paradigm Shift

The Saudi Move into Hydrogen: A Paradigm Shift

Saudi Arabia is moving ahead with its diversification plan, Saudi Vision 2030, by adopting hydrogen. The Kingdom is keen to enable the circular carbon economy (CCE) by producing and utilizing clean hydrogen. On September 27, Saudi Aramco announced its first shipment of hydrogen from Saudi Arabia to Japan. The 40 tonnes of high-grade blue ammonia shipment, which is meant for use in zero-carbon power generation, marks the first of its kind worldwide (Ratcliffe 2020).

6th January 2021
The Fiscal Response to COVID-19 in Saudi Arabia

The Fiscal Response to COVID-19 in Saudi Arabia

The COVID-19 pandemic and the efforts to combat it have led to major global disruptions. Policymakers are faced with a dilemma that is not easily resolved. On the one hand, they are striving to protect public health by containing the spread of the virus. On the other, they must ensure the continuation of economic activities to mitigate the economic impact of the outbreak.

26th July 2020
Estimating the Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Saudi GDP

Estimating the Impact of the COVID-19 Pandemic on Saudi GDP

The COVID-19 pandemic has interrupted economic and social activity globally at an unprecedented pace. The international movement of goods has been limited to the necessary minimum, often solely for deliveries of protective and healthcare equipment. Many governments have imposed strict international travel bans to limit the risk of importing the virus, or at least to sharply reduce the inflow of infected persons.

10th June 2020
The Impact of COVID-19 on Transport and Gasoline Demand

The Impact of COVID-19 on Transport and Gasoline Demand

In the last few months, the world has experienced the negative effects of COVID-19. The outbreak, which started as an epidemic concentrated in China, quickly spread to become a global pandemic. As of May 12, 2020, there have been over four million COVID-19 cases globally, and this number continues to increase.

21st May 2020

Related workshops

See all workshops
05 Oct

Energy Open Data Ecosystem, Energy Data…

Collaboration with: International Energy Forum (IEF) As a response to recommendations from the “Energy open data ecosystem, policy scenario models & tools” workshop series organised by KAPSARC since 2018, IEF and KAPSARC have jointly examined KAPSARC data and modeling resources to improve energy balance compilation with Saudi Arabia as a case study. The project successfully […]

19 Oct

Energy Economics Open Data Ecosystem, Data…

Machine readable energy, economics and climate data is feedstock for energy economic models and research to derive policy insights. As value of data is increasing significantly, data flow and model management tools need further advancement. In this workshop we will discuss how to advance best practices of data, energy economics models management and importance of […]

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you