• المبادرات البحثية -
  • النوع المقالات المحكمة الخارجية
  • التاريخ 1 نوفمبر 2017
‪طباعة

‪الملخص

Recent literature has shown that electricity demand elasticities may not be constant over time and this has investigated using time-varying estimation methods. As accurate modeling of electricity demand is very important in Azerbaijan, which is a transitional country facing significant change in its economic outlook, we analyze whether the response of electricity demand to income and price is varying over time in this economy. We employed the Time-Varying Coefficient cointegration approach, a cutting-edge time-varying estimation method. We find evidence that income elasticity demonstrates sizeable variation for the period of investigation ranging from 0.48% to 0.56%. The study has some useful policy implications related to the income and price aspects of the electricity consumption in Azerbaijan. © 2016 by the authors. Licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland.

https://www.kapsarc.org/booksarticles/page/2/#

Energies

‪المؤلفون

جيهن ميكايلوف

زميل باحث جيهن زميل باحث في كابسارك. وهو حاصل على درجتي البكالوريوس والماجستير في الرياضيات من جامعة أذربيجان (تسمى الآن بجامعة باكو… جيهن زميل باحث في كابسارك. وهو حاصل على درجتي البكالوريوس والماجستير في الرياضيات من جامعة أذربيجان (تسمى الآن بجامعة باكو الحكومية). جيهن حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الرياضيات التطبيقية والاقتصاد القياسي. قبل انضمامه لكابسارك في سبتمبر 2017، كان أستاذاً مشاركاً في قسم الإحصاءات والاقتصاد القياسي في جامعة أذربيجان، وقسم الاقتصاد في جامعة قفقاز بأذربيجان، حيث قام بتدريس الاقتصاد القياسي والإحصاء والاقتصاد الرياضي. كما كان مدير معهد البحوث للعلوم الاجتماعية والإنسانية، ورئيس مركز البحوث الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. وواصل إجراء أبحاثه في جامعة إنديانا بلومنجتون بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. كما كان باحثاً زائراً في العديد من المعاهد، بما في ذلك مركز الأبحاث الاقتصادية القياسية بجامعة سيئول الكورية، وجامعة فيستولا البولندية، وجامعتي نورث تيكساس وساوث تيكساس الأمريكيتين. تركز بحوث جيهن على الاقتصاد القياسي والسلاسل الزمنية، واقتصاديات الطاقة، والبيئة، والتنمية المستدامة. وألف أكثر من 40 مقالاً علمياً في مجلات علمية محكمة، وهو عضو في مجلس تحرير مجلة International Journal of Advanced Multidisciplinary Research and ReviewوJournal of Management, Economics and Industrial Organization وJournal of Socio-Economic Studies، وعضو في الجمعية الدولية لاقتصاديات الطاقة.

‪الخبرات

  • استخدام نماذج الاقتصاد القياسي والسلاسل الزمنية، اقتصاديات الطاقة والبيئة والتنمية المستدامة

الإصدارات عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪جيهن ميكايلوف

فخري حاسانوف

زميل باحث يتولى فخري حاسانوف غدارة مشروع نموذج “كابسارك” الاقتصادي القياسي المخصص للطاقة العالمية في مركز الملك عبد الله للدراسات والبحوث البترولية،…

يتولى فخري حاسانوف غدارة مشروع نموذج "كابسارك" الاقتصادي القياسي المخصص للطاقة العالمية في مركز الملك عبد الله للدراسات والبحوث البترولية، قبل التحاقه بالعمل في المركز زميل باحث عمل أستاذًا مشاركًا ومدير مركز البحوث الاقتصادية والاجتماعية في جامعة كافكاز في أذربيجان. خلال مسيرته المهنية شغل مناصب متعدّدة في المؤسسات الاقتصادية منها نائب مدير معهد الأبحاث في وزارة التنمية الاقتصادية، وباحثًا اقتصاديًا أول في البنك المركزي في أذربيجان، حصل على منحة "فولبرايت" لمرحلة مابعد الدكتوراة من جامعة جورج واشنطن في الولايات المتحدّة وتخصص في قطاع المباني واستخدام تطبيقات نماذج الاقتصاد القياسية في التحليل السياسي، وهو عضو في برنامج الأبحاث للتوقعات المستقبلية وفي هيئة التحرير في مجلة آسيا المتخصّصة في العلوم الإدارية والأعمال. تتنوع خبرة فخري بين نماذج الاقتصاد القياسية والتوقعات البحثية، ويركز في أبحاثه على نماذج الاقتصاد القياسية واقتصاديات الطاقة مع الاهتمام بدراسة الدول الغنية بالموارد الطبيعية والعمل على استخدام تطبيقات نماذج الاقتصاد القياسية في الأغراض السياسية

‪الخبرات

  • اقتصاديات الطاقة وتوقعات نماذج السلاسل الزمنية واستخدام نماذج الاقتصاد القياسية

الإصدارات عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪فخري حاسانوف

كارلو أندريا بولينو

باحث زائر كارلو أندريا باحث زائر في كابسارك، وأستاذ اقتصاد في جامعة بيروغيا، وأستاذ اقتصاديات الطاقة في جامعة LUISS في روما. وهو… كارلو أندريا باحث زائر في كابسارك، وأستاذ اقتصاد في جامعة بيروغيا، وأستاذ اقتصاديات الطاقة في جامعة LUISS في روما. وهو حاصل على درجة الدكتوراه في الاقتصاد من جامعة بنسلفانيا، حيث أشرف عليه الأستاذ الحائز على جائزة نوبل لورنس كلاين. وقد كان باحثًا زائرًا في كابسارك منذ عام 2015، يركز على التحليل الاقتصادي القياسي وإصلاح أسواق الكهرباء وتحليل سياسات تغير المناخ. وهو أستاذ زائر في جامعة برلين للتكنولوجيا بألمانيا، والرئيس (الفخري) للجمعية الإيطالية لاقتصاديات الطاقة. وكان رئيس الجمعية الدولية لاقتصاديات الطاقة في عام 2008، ورئيس الوكالة الإيطالية للطاقة المتجددة، ورئيس شبكة النقل الكهربائي الإيطالية، ومستشار وزير الصناعة ووزارة الخزانة الإيطالية في شؤون الطاقة، وكبير الاقتصاديين في بنك إيطاليا، وباحث مشارك في مشروع للأمم المتحدة. وقدم إحاطات في مجلس الشيوخ والبرلمان في إيطاليا، وقدم تقارير تقنية وسياساتية للحكومات المختلفة حول تحرير أسواق الكهرباء وتطورات الطاقة المتجددة.

‪الخبرات

  • سلوك المستهلك، الاستثمار، الطاقة والبيئة، النماذج الاقتصادية القياسية

الإصدارات عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪كارلو أندريا بولينو

Share this Publication

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Initiative -
  • Type KAPSARC journal article
  • Date 1 November 2017
Print

Abstract

Recent literature has shown that electricity demand elasticities may not be constant over time and this has investigated using time-varying estimation methods. As accurate modeling of electricity demand is very important in Azerbaijan, which is a transitional country facing significant change in its economic outlook, we analyze whether the response of electricity demand to income and price is varying over time in this economy. We employed the Time-Varying Coefficient cointegration approach, a cutting-edge time-varying estimation method. We find evidence that income elasticity demonstrates sizeable variation for the period of investigation ranging from 0.48% to 0.56%. The study has some useful policy implications related to the income and price aspects of the electricity consumption in Azerbaijan. © 2016 by the authors. Licensee MDPI, Basel, Switzerland.

https://www.kapsarc.org/booksarticles/page/2/#

Energies

Authors

Jeyhun Mikayilov

Research Fellow Jeyhun is a research fellow at KAPSARC. He received his B.A. and M.S. from Azerbaijan State University (now Baku State… Jeyhun is a research fellow at KAPSARC. He received his B.A. and M.S. from Azerbaijan State University (now Baku State University) in mathematics. Jeyhun holds a Ph.D. in applied mathematics and a D.S. in econometrics. Before joining KAPSARC in September 2017, Jeyhun was an associate professor at the Department of Statistics and Econometrics at Azerbaijan State University, and the Department of Economics at Qafqaz University, where he taught econometrics, statistics, and mathematical economics. His other roles have included director of the Research Institute for Social Sciences and Humanities, and head of the Center for Socio-Economic Research. Jeyhun was a postdoctoral researcher at Indiana University Bloomington, United States (U.S.). He has also been a visiting researcher at several institutions, including the Center for Econometric Research, Sungyunkwan University in Seoul, South Korea; Vistula University, Warsaw, Poland; the University of North Texas, and the University of South Texas, both in the U.S. Jeyhun’s research is focused on applied time series econometrics, the economics of energy, the environment and sustainable development. He has authored over 40 scientific articles published in peer-reviewed journals and is an editorial board member of the International Journal of Advanced Multidisciplinary Research and Review, the Journal of Management, Economics and Industrial Organization, and the Journal of Socio-Economic Studies, and a member of the International Association for Energy Economics.

Expertise

  • Applied Time Series Econometrics
  • The Economics of Energy and Environment
  • Sustainable Development

Publications See all Jeyhun Mikayilov’s publications

Fakhri Hasanov

Research Fellow Fakhri is a research fellow leading the KAPSARC Global Energy Macroeconometric Model (KGEMM) project. Previously, he was an associate professor… Fakhri is a research fellow leading the KAPSARC Global Energy Macroeconometric Model (KGEMM) project. Previously, he was an associate professor and director of the Center for Socio-Economic Research at Qafqaz University, Azerbaijan. He has served as a deputy director of the Research Institute at the Ministry of Economic Development, and a senior economist at the Research Department of the Central Bank of Azerbaijan Republic. He received a Fulbright Post-Doctoral Scholarship and conducted a research on building and applying a macroeconometric model for policy analysis at the George Washington University. Fakhri is a member of the research program on forecasting at the George Washington University and the editorial board of the Asian Journal of Business and Management Sciences. His research interests and experience span econometric modeling and forecasting, building and applying macroeconometric models for policy purposes, energy economics with a particular focus on natural resource-rich countries.

Expertise

  • Applied macroeconometrics
  • Energy economics
  • Time series modeling and forecasting

Publications See all Fakhri Hasanov’s publications

Carlo Andrea Bollino

Visiting Researcher Carlo Andrea Bollino is a Professor of Economics at the University of Perugia and Professor of Energy Economics at the… Carlo Andrea Bollino is a Professor of Economics at the University of Perugia and Professor of Energy Economics at the University LUISS, Rome. He holds a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Pennsylvania, where he was supervised by Nobel laureate Professor Lawrence Klein. He has been a Visiting Researcher at KAPSARC since 2015, focusing on econometric analysis, electricity market reform and climate change policy analysis. He is a Visiting Professor at Technische Universität, Berlin, Germany, the President (honorary) of the Italian Association for Energy Economics. He was the President of the IAEE in 2008, the President of GSE (Italian Renewable Energy Agency) and GRTN (Italian Electric Transmission network); Energy Advisor to the Minister of Industry and Ministry of Treasury of Italy; Chief Economist, ENI; Economist, Bank of Italy; and a Research Associate at Project Link for the United Nations. He has testified to the Italian Senate and Parliament briefings and has provided various governments with technical and policy reports on electricity market liberalization and renewable energy developments.

Expertise

  • Consumer Behavior
  • Investment
  • Energy and Environment
  • Macroeoconometric Modeling

Publications See all Carlo Andrea Bollino’s publications

Share this Publication

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you