• ‪البرنامج الرئيس خدمات الطاقة والطاقة المتجددة
  • ‪الاهتمامات البحثية سياسات الطاقة، الجيوسياسية، الفحم والوقود الصلب البديل، الهيدروجين، المعادن المهمة، الحرارة الأرضية

‪السيرة الذاتية

زميل باحث في برنامج خدمات الطاقة والطاقة المتجددة. تشمل بحوثه الجارية في كابسارك العديد من القضايا المتعلقة بالتطورات العالمية والإقليمية في مجالات الاقتصاد والطاقة والجيوسياسية والسياسات، وأثر هذه السياسات على أسواق الطاقة العالمية. وكان قبل انضمامه إلى كابسارك مديرًا ومسؤولًا لقسم الاستشارات في كبرى الشركات الهندية. وعمل على نطاق واسع مستشارًا للسلع الأساسية في قطاعي الطاقة والبنية التحتية في الهند، إذ قدم المشورة بشأن تطوير إستراتيجيات دخول سوق السلع الأساسية. وقد ألف وساهم في العديد من الدراسات الاستشارية المتعلقة بالفحم وسياساته في الهند وإندونيسيا والصين. وهو حاصل على درجة البكالوريوس في الهندسة الميكانيكية من جامعة بيون في الهند، ودبلوم الدراسات العليا في إدارة الأعمال من معهد ويلنجكار للإدارة في مومباي.

الإصدارات

عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪جتندرا
  • كتاب
  • ورقة نقاش
  • تحليل بيانات
  • رؤية على الأحداث
  • تعليق
  • المقالات المحكمة الخارجية
  • مجموعة الفكر
Climate Change and Transboundary Challenges in Middle East and Africa (MEA)

Climate Change and Transboundary Challenges in Middle East and Africa (MEA)

The world’s largest climate summit, the Conference of the Parties of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP28), held in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE), between 30 November and 12 December 2023, is a landmark moment in our planet’s future. With the UN 2030 climate target in perspective, we have only seven years left to reduce global carbon emissions by half and limit global warming to 1.5°C compared to pre-industrial levels by 2050.   Read Book Chapter 

8th ديسمبر 2023
Smart Cities from an Indian Perspective: Evolving Ambitions

Smart Cities from an Indian Perspective: Evolving Ambitions

Indian urban infrastructure is in the middle of a massive build-up. For several decades, Indian cities were caught between the demands of an exploding population and the need to provide infrastructure in terms of health, education, transport, and services to meet the core needs of the citizenry. With increasing prosperity and leveraging the strengths of one of the world’s largest and fast-growing economies, Indian policymakers seek to correct their previous underinvestment in city infrastructure. Smart City Mission, Swachh Bharat Mission, and Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation are some of the policy vehicles planned for a broad transformation of India’s urban agenda. This chapter highlights some of the policy initiatives focused on meeting the objectives of Smart Cities. These policy initiatives are expected to help address the current service delivery gap from an urban infrastructure standpoint. By incorporating technology, improving digital access, innovations in traffic management, investments in mobility solutions, and ensuring that the heritage of the Indian cities is maintained, India seeks to answer the challenge of urbanization of millions. These policy mechanisms and the lessons from their successes and failures constitute this chapter’s core. Indian urban infrastructure developments are unique globally, primarily because of the varying range of urbanization across the country, the contextual rationale and the evolving aspirations of the policymakers, and the devolution of developmental powers to local bodies. The Indian experience of implementing the Smart Cities objectives would be unique in the world, given the scale of the massive investments and the millions of citizens whose lives are impacted.   Read Book Chapter 

15th أكتوبر 2023
سياسات وقود السيارات في الهند: التطور والتحديات

سياسات وقود السيارات في الهند: التطور والتحديات

تتطلع الهند كالعديد من البلدان الأخرى إلى تنويع مزيج وقود السيارات لديها بالابتعاد عن الوقود النفطي التقليدي واستبداله بأنواع بديلة من الوقود الأنظف. وتكمن الأسباب الرئيسة للتنويع في أمن الطاقة والصحة العامة بسبب الانبعاثات الضارة الناتجة من وقود السيارات. في الوقت الحاضر، يمثل الديزل والبنزين وقود السيارات الأكثر شيوعا في الهند. وقد يخلق الطلب المتزايد على هذه الأنواع من الوقود مخاوف جدية لأمن الطاقة الوطني وجودة الهواء في البلاد. لذا، يحلل هذا البحث تدخلات حكومة الهند في الماضي والحاضر في سياسة وقود السيارات التي تهدف إلى تخفيف الانبعاثات الضارة ومعالجة المخاوف المتزايدة المتعلقة بأمن الطاقة وزيادة واردات النفط الخام.

6th نوفمبر 2019
شركات الأسمنت في المملكة العربية السعودية: النهوض بالأداء عبر الاستفادة من الطاقة الفائضة

شركات الأسمنت في المملكة العربية السعودية: النهوض بالأداء عبر الاستفادة من الطاقة الفائضة

تبلغ الطاقة الإنتاجية السنوية للأسمنت في المملكة العربية السعودية 72.4 مليون طن، وتعد الأعلى على مستوى دول الخليج. وقد شهد إنتاج المملكة من الأسمنت نموًا في الفترة مابين (2001م و2005م) بمعدل سنوي مركب قدره 8 ٪. ومع ذلك فإنّ الإنتاج السنوي للمملكة في عام 2018م البالغ 42.2 مليون طن يمثل انخفاضًا بنسبة 46 ٪ تقريبًا مقارنةبأعلى مستوى سابق، الذي كان قد بلغ 61.5 مليون طن في عام 2015م.

21st يونيو 2020
الممر الاقتصادي بين الهند والشرق الأوسط وأوروبا: الجمع بين الطموحات الاقتصادية والرقمية

الممر الاقتصادي بين الهند والشرق الأوسط وأوروبا: الجمع بين الطموحات الاقتصادية والرقمية

مثّل الإعلان عن الممر الاقتصادي بين الهند والشرق الأوسط وأوروبا خلال قمة مجموعة العشرين لعام 2023م فينيودلهي تطورًا مهمًا لمبادرة الشراكة من أجل الاستثمار العالمي في البنية التحتية، وقد أُعلن عن تشكيل هذه الشراكةخلال الرئاسة الألمانية لمجموعة السبع في عام 2022م. الشراكة من أجل الاستثمار العالمي في البنية التحتية هي مبادرةأعدتها المملكة المتحدة في البداية باسم إعادة بناء عالم أفضل خلال رئاستها لمجموعة السبع في عام 2021م، وأُعيدتتسميتها لاحقًا. تركز هذه المبادرة على توفير البنية التحتية لمساعدة الدول النامية على التقدم من خلال تلبية احتياجاتتمويل البنية التحتية عن طريق الاستثمارات العامة والخاصة. أُعلن عن الممر الاقتصادي بين الهند والشرق الأوسطوأوروبا في اجتماع شاركت في رئاسته الهند والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية خلال قمة مجموعة العشرين التي اختتمتمؤخرًا. سيحفز الممر الاقتصادي المقترح التنمية الاقتصادية والنمو من خلال دمج ثلاث مناطق: آسيا والخليج العربيوأوروبا (Ministry of External Affairs 2023).

2nd أكتوبر 2023
تصدير أول شحنة من الأمونيا الزرقاء في العالم يشير إلى تجارة طاقة جديدة محتملة للمملكة العربية السعودية منخفضة الكربون

تصدير أول شحنة من الأمونيا الزرقاء في العالم يشير إلى تجارة طاقة جديدة محتملة للمملكة العربية السعودية منخفضة الكربون

نجحت أرامكو السعودية في تصدير أول شحنة في العالم من الأمونيا المحايد للكربون إلى اليابان في 27 سبتمبر 2020، مما ساعد على تغذية اقتصاد الهيدروجين الياباني الناشئ. تعتبر هذه الشحنة التجريبية البالغة 40 طنًا إنجازًا مهمًا لاقتصاد الهيدروجين لكل من المملكة العربية السعودية واليابان. كما أنه يشير إلى إضافة مهمة محتملة إلى محفظة سلع التصدير في المملكة.

26th نوفمبر 2020
استخدام سلسلة الكتل في الخدمات اللوجستية السعودية

استخدام سلسلة الكتل في الخدمات اللوجستية السعودية

أعلنت الجمارك السعودية ووزارة الاتصالات وتقنية المعلومات وهيئة الموانئ السعودية وشركات الخدمات اللوجستية (أرنولد بيتر مولر وشركة ميرسك) في يوم 21 من شهر سبتمبر عام 2019 م عن نجاح إنجاز المشروع التجريبي الرائد لتكنولوجيا سلسلة الكتل  ” Blockchain” بتتبع إحدى حاويات الشحن من ميناء الملك عبد العزيز بالدمام وصولًا إلى ميناء روتردام في هولندا.

22nd أكتوبر 2019
واردات الهند النفطية: كعب أخيل أم رمح اقتصادي؟

واردات الهند النفطية: كعب أخيل أم رمح اقتصادي؟

أوضحت‭ ‬وزيرة‭ ‬المالية‭ ‬الهندية‭ ‬نيرمالا‭ ‬سيتارمان‭ ‬الميزانية‭ ‬الهندية‭ ‬لعام‭ ‬2019‭ ‬في‭ ‬5‭ ‬يوليو،‭ ‬وتتضمن‭ ‬رؤية‭ ‬حكومة‭ ‬مودي‭ ‬لتحقيق‭ ‬اقتصاد‭ ‬يصل‭ ‬إلى‭ ‬5‭ ‬تريليون‭ ‬دولار‭ ‬أمريكي‭ ‬بحلول‭ ‬عام‭ ،‬2024‭ ‬أي‭ ‬ما‭ ‬يقارب‭ ‬ضعف‭ ‬إجمالي‭ ‬الناتج‭ ‬المحلي‭ ‬الحالي‭ ‬للبلاد‭ ‬الذي‭ ‬يقدر‭ ‬بـ‭ ‬2‭.‬73‭ ‬تريليون‭ ‬دولار‭ ‬أمريكي‭. ‬ولتحقيق‭ ‬هذا‭ ‬الهدف‭ ‬الطموح،‭ ‬تخطط‭ ‬الهند‭ ‬لتحرير‭ ‬قواعد‭ ‬الاستثمارات‭ ‬الأجنبية‭ ‬المباشرة‭ ‬والاستفادة‭ ‬من‭ ‬أسواق‭ ‬السندات‭ ‬الدولية‭ ‬لتمويل‭ ‬عجز‭ ‬ميزانيتها‭. ‬وتعد‭ ‬الخطوة‭ ‬الأخيرة‭ ‬محفوفة‭ ‬بالمخاطر‭ ‬وستجعل‭ ‬من‭ ‬سياسة‭ ‬سعر‭ ‬الصرف‭ ‬ساحة‭ ‬معركة‭ ‬في‭ ‬المستقبل‭ .‬ومع‭ ‬ذلك،‭ ‬فقد‭ ‬تباطأ‭ ‬النمو‭ ‬الاقتصادي‭ ‬في‭ ‬الهند‭ ‬خلال‭ ‬الربعين‭ ‬الماضيين،‭ ‬وقلصت‭ ‬الحكومة‭ ‬من‭ ‬خيارات‭ ‬جمع‭ ‬الأموال‭ ‬محليا،‭ ‬مما‭ ‬اضطرها‭ ‬للنظر‭ ‬في‭ ‬الاقتراض‭ ‬من‭ ‬العملات‭ ‬الأجنبية‭ ‬الخارجية‭ ‬التي‭ ‬تراهن‭ ‬أنه‭ ‬إلى‭ ‬جانب‭ ‬التدفقات‭ ‬الداخلية‭ ‬للاستثمارات‭ ‬الأجنبية‭ ‬المباشرة‭ ‬ستسهم‭ ‬في‭ ‬زيادة‭ ‬الاستثمار‭ ‬المحلي‭ ‬وبالتالي‭ ‬تحقيق‭ ‬نمو‭ ‬أعلى‭.‬

21st أغسطس 2019
التقدم المُحرز في الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون: نهج الهند لاحتجاز الكربون واستخدامه وتخزينه

التقدم المُحرز في الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون: نهج الهند لاحتجاز الكربون واستخدامه وتخزينه

إن مفهوم الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون هو امتداد لفكرة الاقتصاد الدائري، مع التركيز على تدفقات الطاقة والكربون والاحتفاظ ضمنيا بمواد الاقتصاد الدائري والطاقة والمياه والتدفقات الاقتصادية. ويتمثل الهدف من إطار عمل الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون في تحقيق توازن كربوني أو حياد صفري للانبعاثات الكربونية في النصف الثاني من القرن الحادي والعشرين، وبذلك تكون دائرية تدفقات هذه المواد ثانوية مقارنة بدائرية تدفقات الكربون لا سيما عندما يكونا في حالة تعارض. يركز هذا التعليق على مكونات احتجاز الكربون واستخدامه وتخزينه في إطار عمل الاقتصاد الدائري للكربون، مما يبرز أهمية هذا الإطار في سياق الهند.

3rd أغسطس 2023

كن على اطلاع

 أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Primary Program Utilities and Renewables
  • Research Interests Energy policy, geopolitics, coal and alternative solid fuels, hydrogen, critical minerals and geothermal

Biography

Jitendra Roychoudhury is a research fellow in the Utilities and Renewables program. His ongoing research portfolio at KAPSARC covers various issues related to global and regional economic, energy and geopolitical, policy developments, and the impact of such policies on global energy markets. Before joining KAPSARC, Jitendra was Director and Chief Consultant at HDR Salva, India. He has worked extensively as a commodity consultant within India’s energy and infrastructure sectors, advising on developing commodity market entry strategies. He has authored and contributed to numerous consulting studies related to coal and coal policy in India, Indonesia, and China. Jitendra has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Pune, India, and a post-graduate diploma in business management from Welingkar’s Institute of Management, Mumbai.

Publications

See all Jitendra’s publications
  • Book/book chapter
  • Discussion paper
  • Data Insight
  • Instant Insights
  • Commentary
  • KAPSARC journal articles
  • Think20 (T20)
Smart Cities from an Indian Perspective: Evolving Ambitions

Smart Cities from an Indian Perspective: Evolving Ambitions

Indian urban infrastructure is in the middle of a massive build-up. For several decades, Indian cities were caught between the demands of an exploding population and the need to provide infrastructure in terms of health, education, transport, and services to meet the core needs of the citizenry. With increasing prosperity and leveraging the strengths of one of the world’s largest and fast-growing economies, Indian policymakers seek to correct their previous underinvestment in city infrastructure. Smart City Mission, Swachh Bharat Mission, and Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation are some of the policy vehicles planned for a broad transformation of India’s urban agenda. This chapter highlights some of the policy initiatives focused on meeting the objectives of Smart Cities. These policy initiatives are expected to help address the current service delivery gap from an urban infrastructure standpoint. By incorporating technology, improving digital access, innovations in traffic management, investments in mobility solutions, and ensuring that the heritage of the Indian cities is maintained, India seeks to answer the challenge of urbanization of millions. These policy mechanisms and the lessons from their successes and failures constitute this chapter’s core. Indian urban infrastructure developments are unique globally, primarily because of the varying range of urbanization across the country, the contextual rationale and the evolving aspirations of the policymakers, and the devolution of developmental powers to local bodies. The Indian experience of implementing the Smart Cities objectives would be unique in the world, given the scale of the massive investments and the millions of citizens whose lives are impacted.   Read Book Chapter 

15th October 2023
India’s Automotive Fuel Policies: Evolution and Challenges

India’s Automotive Fuel Policies: Evolution and Challenges

India, like many other countries, is seeking to diversify its automotive fuel mix away from conventional petroleum fuels to alternate, cleaner fuels. The primary reasons for its diversification are energy security and public health due to harmful emissions from automotive fuels. At present, in India, diesel and gasoline are the most common automobile fuels. Increasing demand for these fuels could create serious concerns for the country’s national energy security and air quality. This paper analyzes the government of India’s past and present automotive fuel policy interventions, aimed at both mitigating harmful emissions and addressing the growing concerns of energy security and rising crude oil imports.

6th November 2019
Saudi Arabian Cement Companies: Upgrading Through Leveraging Overcapacity

Saudi Arabian Cement Companies: Upgrading Through Leveraging Overcapacity

The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia’s annual cement production capacity of 72.4 million tonnes is the highest of any Gulf country. From 2001-2005, Saudi cement production grew at a compound annual growth rate of almost 8%. However, its annual production in 2018 of 42.2 million tonnes represented a drop of nearly 46% from its historical high of 61.5 million tonnes in 2015.    

21st June 2020
India Middle East Europe Economic Corridor: Bridging Economic and Digital Aspirations

India Middle East Europe Economic Corridor: Bridging Economic and Digital Aspirations

The announcement of the India-Middle East-Europe Economic Corridor (IMEC) during the 2023 Group of 20 (G20) Summit in New Delhi marks a significant development for the Partnership for Global Infrastructure and Investment (PGII) initiative. The PGII formation was announced in 2022 during the Group of Seven (G7) German Presidency. Initially formulated by the United Kingdom as the Build Back Better World (B3W) in 2021 during the G7 Presidency, and subsequently renamed, PGII is an initiative focused on providing infrastructure to help developing countries progress by addressing infrastructure funding requirements through public and private investments. During the recently concluded G20 Summit, at a meeting co-chaired by India and the United States of America (USA), the IMEC was announced. The proposed economic corridor will connect and stimulate economic development and growth by integrating three regions: Asia, the Arabian Gulf, and Europe (Ministry of External Affairs 2023). 

2nd October 2023
World’s First Blue Ammonia Shipment Signals Prospective New Low-Carbon Energy Trade for Saudi Arabia

World’s First Blue Ammonia Shipment Signals Prospective New Low-Carbon Energy Trade for Saudi Arabia

On September 27, 2020, Saudi Aramco successfully exported the world’s first shipment of carbon-neutral ammonia to Japan, helping to fuel the nascent Japanese hydrogen economy. This pilot shipment of 40 tonnes is an important realization of the hydrogen economy for both the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and Japan. It also signals a potentially important addition to the Kingdom’s export commodity portfolio. 

26th November 2020
The Use of Blockchain Technology in Saudi Logistics

The Use of Blockchain Technology in Saudi Logistics

On September 21, 2019, Saudi Customs, the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, the Saudi Ports Authority, and the logistics firm, A.P. Moller – Maersk, jointly announced the successful completion of a blockchain pilot project tracking a shipping container from King Abdulaziz Port, Dammam to the port of Rotterdam in the Netherlands.

22nd October 2019
India’s Oil Imports: Achilles’ Heel or Economic Javelin?

India’s Oil Imports: Achilles’ Heel or Economic Javelin?

Presenting India’s 2019 budget on July 5, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman sketched out the Modi government’s vision of becoming a $5 trillion economy by 2024, almost doubling the country’s current gross domestic product (GDP) of $2.73 trillion. To achieve this ambitious goal, India plans to liberalize foreign direct investment (FDI) rules and tap international bond markets to fund its budget deficit. The latter is a risky enterprise and ensures exchange rate policy becomes a future battleground. However, India’s economic growth has been slowing over the past two quarters, and the government has limited options to raise funds domestically, forcing it to look at external foreign currency borrowing. The government is betting that external borrowing combined with FDI inflows will lead to greater domestic investment and thus higher growth. 

21st August 2019
Enabling the Progress of the Circular Carbon Economy: India’s Approach to CCUS

Enabling the Progress of the Circular Carbon Economy: India’s Approach to CCUS

The circular carbon economy (CCE) concept is an extension of the idea of a circular economy, focusing on energy and carbon flows while implicitly retaining the circular economy’s material, energy, water, and economic flows. The goal of the CCE framework is to achieve a carbon balance or net-zero emissions in the second half of the twenty-first century; as such, the circularity of material flows is secondary to the circularity of carbon flows when they are in conflict. This commentary focuses on the carbon capture, utilization, and storage (CCUS) components of the CCE framework, highlighting the relevance of the framework in the context of India.

3rd August 2023

Stay informed

 I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you