• ‪البرنامج الرئيس تحولات الطاقة والكهرباء
  • ‪الاهتمامات البحثية سياسات الطاقة ونمذجتها، وإعادة هيكلة قطاع الكهرباء

‪السيرة الذاتية

فرانك مهندس ومحلل لسياسات الطاقة. قبل انضمامه لكابسارك مديراً لبرنامج تحولات الطاقة والكهرباء، عمل فرانك أستاذًا باحثًا في كلية التخطيط والسياسة العامة في جامعة روتجرز، ومديراً لمعهد روتجرز للطاقة ومديراً لمركز الطاقة والاقتصاد والسياسة البيئية. وقد أجرى بحوثًا في مجالات نمذجة أنظمة الطاقة الكهربائية والسياسات البيئية النظيفة وتغير المناخ للمؤسسات الأكاديمية والوكالات الحكومية وقطاعات الطاقة. كما عمل مستشارًا اقتصاديًا ومهندسًا نوويًا.

الإصدارات

عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪فرانك
  • ورقة نقاش
  • رؤية على الأحداث
  • تعليق
  • المقالات المحكمة الخارجية
مرور عام على حادثة انقطاع التيار الكهربائي في ولاية تكساس الأمريكية: الدروس المستفادة لنظم الطاقة الكهربائية الموثوقة والمرنة

مرور عام على حادثة انقطاع التيار الكهربائي في ولاية تكساس الأمريكية: الدروس المستفادة لنظم الطاقة الكهربائية الموثوقة والمرنة

شهدت ولاية تكساس الأمريكية في شهر فبراير من عام 2021 موجة برد شديدة تسببت في انقطاع الكهرباء عن ملايين المنازل، مما أدى إلى وفاة أكثر من مائتي شخص وإلحاق أضرار اقتصادية بلغت قيمتها حوالي 100 مليار دولار. كما تم استخدام حادثة انقطاع الكهرباء في تكساس لدعم العديد من الادعاءات المتعلقة بالطاقة المتجددة، وأسواق الكهرباء، وتغير المناخ. غير أننا نحدد في هذه الدراسة محركات انقطاع الكهرباء في تكساس، والدروس المستفادة منذ ذلك الحين، وتنطبق هذه الدروس بصفة خاصة على أنظمة الطاقة الكهربائية حول العالم، بما فيها أنظمة دول مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا.

14th June 2022
الوفورات الموسمية للوقود الناجمة عن تحويل الأحمال الكهربائية في القطاع الصناعي السعودي

الوفورات الموسمية للوقود الناجمة عن تحويل الأحمال الكهربائية في القطاع الصناعي السعودي

يعد تحويل الحمل الكهربائي – أي نقل الطلب من ساعات الذروة إلى خارجها – نوعا هاما من أنواع الاستجابة للطلب، إذ يمكنه خفض التكاليف التشغيلية الإجمالية لنظام الطاقة وتحسين موثوقية شبكة الكهرباء. وتقدر هذه الدراسة الآثار المالية المترتبة على تحويل الأحمال الكهربائية في القطاع الصناعي السعودي. كما تم استخدام نموذج وطني سعودي لتحسين التوزيع بهدف محاكاة ثلاثة سيناريوهات. وتمكنا باستخدام هذا النموذج من تقييم الآثار المترتبة على تحويل الأحمال الكهربائية في قطاع الصناعة من فترة الذروة في فصل الصيف إلى أشهر فصل الشتاء الواقعة خارج أوقات الذروة، مع بقاء تعريفات الكهرباء الصناعية على حالها دون تغيير.

11th April 2022
تحقيق أهداف الطاقة المتجددة دون المساومة على موثوقية قطاع الطاقة

تحقيق أهداف الطاقة المتجددة دون المساومة على موثوقية قطاع الطاقة

وضعت وزارة الطاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية أهدافًا طموحة للطاقة المتجددة. وعلى الرغم من أن مزيج الطاقة الحالي في المملكة تهيمن عليه الطاقة التقليدية (%95<)، إلا أنها تهدف إلى إنتاج %50 من الطاقة من مصادر متجددة بحلول عام 2030. تتمتع حاليًا المملكة بإمكانات عالية جدًا من الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية، كما أنها في وضع جيد لتوليد الطاقة من الرياح. وبالتالي، فإن دراسة موثوقية أنظمة الطاقة المتجددة وتأثير تحويل التوليد التقليدي إلى طاقة متجددة تعد ذات أهمية كبيرة. ويعد هذا الأمر مهما لأن درجات الحرارة في المملكة غالبًا ما تكون مرتفعة أغلب العام.  

22nd March 2022
مصادر الطاقة المتجددة وموثوقية وكفاءة أسواق الكهرباء

مصادر الطاقة المتجددة وموثوقية وكفاءة أسواق الكهرباء

يعتمد اختيار استخدام أسواق الكهرباء للتحول إلى قطاع كهرباء فائق الاعتماد على مصادر الطاقة المتجددة على إمكانية تحقيق مستوى عال من الموثوقية والكفاءة. وتقدم هذه الدراسة إطارا لسياسات الموثوقية والمرونة والتكيف يكون مخصصا لنظام الطاقة المتحرر الذي يتمتع بحصة كبيرة من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة. ويقدم هذا الإطار رؤى سياسات بشأن موثوقية سوق الكهرباء وآثار آليات التعويض على مصادر الطاقة المتجددة. كما يبين تحليلنا ضرورة إعادة النظر في تقييمات مدى كفاية أنظمة الطاقة المتحررة وتعزيز تعريف احتمالية فقد الجهد الكهربائي، والنظر صراحة في احتمالية زوال السوق. ويمكن لأسواق الكهرباء في ظل هذه الظروف أن تحقق نظريا كلًا من الموثوقية والكفاءة من مصادر الطاقة المتجددة المتغيرة والمتقطعة بنسب كبيرة، وبتكاليف حدية صفرية أو شبه صفرية، فضلا عن إمكانية مواجهة التحديات السوقية والفنية.

29th December 2021
كيف يمكن لتخزين الطاقة أن يُحفز سياسات الكهرباء للدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية؟ القضايا والخيارات

كيف يمكن لتخزين الطاقة أن يُحفز سياسات الكهرباء للدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربية؟ القضايا والخيارات

تعمل المملكة العربية السعودية ورصفائها من الدول الأعضاء في مجلس التعاون لدول الخليج العربي بالتوازي على إصلاح أسواق الكهرباء فيها وتحقيق أهدافها الطموحة فيما يتعلق بنشر الطاقة المتجددة، ويعتبر الدافع الكامن وراء هذه الأجندة متعدد الأوجه، كما تعتبر زيادة الكفاءة الاقتصادية أحد الأسباب العديدة الدافعة لبذل هذه الجهود. تهدف هذه الدول مجتمعة من خلال إدخال الأسواق في قطاع الطاقة (أيّ تحرير هذا القطاع)، إلى الحد من اعتماد هذا القطاع على الميزانية العامة، فضلا عن أن بإمكان القطاع الخاص تمويل عمليات توليد الكهرباء وتوسيع شبكتها وخفض أسعارها.

27th September 2021
تقييم دور مصادر الطاقة المتجددة في تقليل الانبعاثات في قطاع الطاقة السعودي باستخدام تحسين الأعداد الصحيحة المختلط

تقييم دور مصادر الطاقة المتجددة في تقليل الانبعاثات في قطاع الطاقة السعودي باستخدام تحسين الأعداد الصحيحة المختلط

يُنظر إلى تقنيات الطاقة المتجددة (RE) على أنها وسيلة مهمة للحد من الانبعاثات المرتبطة بقطاع الطاقة. باستخدام تحسين الأعداد الصحيحة المختلط، نقوم بتقييم إلى أي مدى تقلل الطاقة المتجددة من انبعاثات الكربون في قطاع الطاقة السعودي.  

2nd June 2021
استجابات السياسة لأزمة الموثوقية في شبكة الكهرباء

استجابات السياسة لأزمة الموثوقية في شبكة الكهرباء

هناك أزمة موثوقية في شبكات الطاقة الكهربائية في الصين وأوروبا وآسيا الوسطى والهند الى الولايات المتحدة. ولكن السؤال هنا: لماذا تعد شبكات الكهرباء ضعيفة للغاية وما الذي يجب على صانعي السياسة فعله؟

6th June 2022
ما الذي تعلمناه من تجربة تكساس عن تقليل معدلات تواتر وشدة انقطاع التيار الكهربائي؟

ما الذي تعلمناه من تجربة تكساس عن تقليل معدلات تواتر وشدة انقطاع التيار الكهربائي؟

  انقطع التيار الكهربائي في يوم الاثنين الموافق 12 فبراير عما يقرب من ثلاثة ملايين منزل وشركة في مدينة تكساس الأمريكية بسبب عاصفة شتوية غير عادية أدت في الوقت نفسه إلى زيادة الطلب على الكهرباء وانخفاض العرض. ولم تكن هذه المرة الأولى التي تتعرض فيها تكساس إلى حادث مماثل بسبب الطقس البارد، إذ حدث الأمر ذاته في عام 2011. يعد الطقس القاسي أحد الأسباب المتكررة لحدوث حالات انقطاع التيار الكهربائي على نطاق واسع. فعلى سبيل المثال، عانت المنطقة الشمالية الشرقية من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية في عام 2012 من انقطاع كبير في التيار الكهربائي بسبب إعصار ساندي. وقد أطاح هذا الإعصار بالعديد من خطوط التوزيع مما أدى إلى انقطاع الكهرباء عن ملايين السكان لمدة تصل إلى أسبوعين.

28th February 2021
موثوقية نظام المناخ والطاقة في أعقاب حالات انقطاع التيار الكهربائي في ولاية تكساس الأمريكية

موثوقية نظام المناخ والطاقة في أعقاب حالات انقطاع التيار الكهربائي في ولاية تكساس الأمريكية

أكدت حادثة انقطاع التيار الكهربائي التي شهدتها ولاية تكساس الأمريكية في شهر فبراير هذا العام على أهمية وجود أنظمة طاقة تتمتع بالموثوقية والمرونة. ونتناول بالنقاش في هذا التعليق، أدوار الهيئات التنظيمية والأسواق وسلاسل إمدادات الوقود والتوليد، والبنى التحتية المترابطة التي نعتقد أنه يتعين معاودة النظر فيها وإعادة تحديدها من أجل النجاح في مواجهة التحديات المستقبلية المتمثلة في تزايد معدلات توليد الطاقة الكهربائية الكهربة والأحوال الجوية القاسية.

25th August 2021

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Primary Program Energy Transitions and Electric Power
  • Research Interests Energy Policy, Electricity Restructuring and Energy Modeling

Biography

Frank is an engineer, energy policy analyst, and Program Director for Energy Transitions and Electric Power. Prior to joining KAPSARC, Frank was a Research Professor at the School of Planning and Public Policy at Rutgers University, Director of the Rutgers Energy Institute, and Director of the Center for Energy, Economics and Environmental Policy. In those roles, he conducted original and applied research in the areas of electric power system modeling, clean energy policies, and climate change for academic foundations, government agencies, and energy utilities. He has also worked as an economic consultant and nuclear engineer.

Publications

See all Frank’s publications
  • Discussion papers
  • Instant Insights
  • Commentary
  • KAPSARC journal articles
Cost, Emission, and Macroeconomic Implications of Diesel Displacement in the Saudi Agricultural Sector: Options and Policy Insights

Cost, Emission, and Macroeconomic Implications of Diesel Displacement in the Saudi Agricultural Sector: Options and Policy Insights

The Saudi agricultural sector relies on diesel for irrigation, which is provided to farmers at a much lower price than the average global price, implying significant opportunity costs. With the aid of soft-coupled power and macro-econometric models, we assess the cost and macroeconomic implications of electrifying irrigation activities in the Saudi agricultural sector. Three electrification scenarios are considered: electrifying each individual farm with a dedicated hybrid renewable micro-grid, electrifying the entire farm cluster with central generation and connecting the entire cluster via transmission to the national grid. Compared with the base-case, connecting the farm cluster to the national grid is found to be the most economical but the least environmentally friendly. The renewable and central generation scenarios are costlier (compared with the transmission scenario) due, respectively, to the high battery costs and gas infrastructure needed.

24th August 2022
One Year After the Texas Blackout: Lessons for Reliable and Resilient Power Systems

One Year After the Texas Blackout: Lessons for Reliable and Resilient Power Systems

In February 2021, Texas experienced an extreme cold snap causing a dramatic electricity blackout that left millions of households without electricity, resulting in over 200 fatalities and economic damages of approximately $100 billion. The Texas blackout has been used to support a variety of claims regarding renewable energy, electricity markets and climate change. We identify the blackout’s drivers and what has been learned since then. These lessons apply to power systems worldwide, including those of the Gulf Cooperation Council and the broader Middle East and North Africa region.

14th June 2022
Cross-seasonal Fuel Savings from Load Shifting in the Saudi Industrial Sector

Cross-seasonal Fuel Savings from Load Shifting in the Saudi Industrial Sector

Load shifting, that is, moving demand from peak to off-peak hours, is an important type of demand response. It can reduce the overall operating costs of a power system and improve the reliability of the power grid. This study estimates the financial implications of load shifting in the Saudi industrial sector. We use a national Saudi power system dispatch optimization model to simulate three scenarios. With this model, we quantify the impacts of shifting industrial loads from the peak summer to the off-peak winter months, keeping industrial electricity tariffs unchanged.    

11th April 2022
Achieving Renewable Energy Targets Without Compromising the Power Sector’s Reliability

Achieving Renewable Energy Targets Without Compromising the Power Sector’s Reliability

Saudi Arabia’s Ministry of Energy has set ambitious renewable energy goals. Although the Kingdom’s current energy mix is dominated by conventional energy (>95%), it aims to draw 50% of its energy from renewable sources by 2030. Currently, the Kingdom enjoys very high solar photovoltaic potential, and it is also well positioned for wind generation. Thus, studying the reliability of highly renewable power systems and the impact of converting conventional generation to renewable energy is of paramount importance. The latter analysis is important because temperatures in the Kingdom are often high for a considerable portion of the year.

22nd March 2022
Renewables, Reliability and Efficiency in Electricity Markets

Renewables, Reliability and Efficiency in Electricity Markets

The choice to use electricity markets to transition to an ultra-high renewable electricity sector depends on whether a high level of reliability and efficiency can be achieved. This study presents a reliability, resiliency and adaptability policy framework for a liberalized power system with a high share of renewables. This framework provides policy insights regarding electricity market reliability and the implications of remuneration mechanisms for renewables. Our analysis shows that it is necessary to reconsider adequacy assessments of liberalized power systems, to enhance the definition of the loss of load probability, and to explicitly consider the probability that the market clears. Under these conditions, electricity markets can theoretically achieve reliability and efficiency with large percentages of variable and intermittent renewable resources with zero or near-zero marginal costs, and market and technical challenges can be addressed.  

29th December 2021
How Can Energy Storage Catalyze the Electricity Policies of Gulf Cooperation Council Members? Issues and Options

How Can Energy Storage Catalyze the Electricity Policies of Gulf Cooperation Council Members? Issues and Options

Saudi Arabia and other Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) members are working in parallel to reform their electricity markets and achieve ambitious renewable energy deployment goals. The motivation for this agenda is multifaceted, and increasing economic efficiency is one of several reasons for these efforts. By introducing markets in the power sector (i.e., liberalizing this sector), these countries aim to reduce the sector’s reliance on the public budget.

27th September 2021
What Texas Tells Us About Lessening the Frequency and Severity of Electricity Blackouts?

What Texas Tells Us About Lessening the Frequency and Severity of Electricity Blackouts?

On Monday, February 12, approximately three million homes and businesses in Texas lost power due to an unusual winter storm that simultaneously increased electricity demand and decreased supply. This was not the first time; Texas had a similar incident due to cold weather in 2011. Severe weather is a frequent cause of large-scale blackouts. For instance, in 2012, the Northeastern region of the United States suffered extensive power outages due to Hurricane Sandy. The hurricane toppled many distribution lines, resulting in several million residents not having electricity for up to two weeks.        

28th February 2021
Climate and Power System Reliability in the Aftermath of the Texas Blackouts

Climate and Power System Reliability in the Aftermath of the Texas Blackouts

The February 2021 blackout in Texas underscored the importance of reliable and resilient power systems. In this commentary, we discuss the roles of regulators, markets, fuel and generation supply chains, and interdependent infrastructures, and finds that they need to be reconsidered and redefined to successfully meet the future challenges of increased electrification and severe weather.

25th August 2021

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you