• ‪البرنامج الرئيس الأسواق والتنمية الصناعية
  • ‪الاهتمامات البحثية أسواق النفط وسياسات الطاقة

‪السيرة الذاتية

تخرج عبدالله حديثًا من جامعة الملك فهد للبترول والمعادن وانضم إلى برنامج كابسارك لتطوير الأسواق والصناعة مع التركيز على أسواق النفط وسياسات الطاقة. وقد أكمل تدريبه سابقًا في مركز هاليبرتون للبحث والتطوير في الظهران بالمملكة العربية السعودية.

الإصدارات

عرض جميع الإصدارات ‬‪عبدالله
  • ورقة نقاش
  • دراسة
  • تحليلات البيانات
  • رؤية على الأحداث
التحليل التجريبيّ: لهيكل سوق النفط ومخزوناته وأسعاره

التحليل التجريبيّ: لهيكل سوق النفط ومخزوناته وأسعاره

يعتبر‭ ‬فهم‭ ‬العلاقة‭ ‬القائمة‭ ‬بين‭ ‬أسعار‭ ‬النفط‭ ‬الخام‭ ‬ومستويات‭ ‬المخزون‭ ‬أمراً‭ ‬بالغ‭ ‬الأهمية‭ ‬بالنسبة‭ ‬لمقرري‭ ‬السياسات‭ ‬والجهات‭ ‬الاقتصادية‭ ‬الفاعلة،‭ ‬حيث‭ ‬يعكس‭ ‬حجم‭ ‬“الأساس”‭ ‬أو‭ ‬الفارق‭ ‬بين‭ ‬أسعار‭ ‬التسليم‭ ‬الفوري‭ ‬والعقود‭ ‬الآجلة‭ ‬مستوى‭ ‬المخزونات،‭ ‬ويمكنه‭ ‬أن‭ ‬يؤدي‭ ‬أيضاً‭ ‬إلى‭ ‬تجارة‭ ‬أو‭ ‬تداول‭ ‬المراجحة‭ ‬مُوازنة‭ ‬سِعر‭ ‬الصَّرف‭ .‬كما‭ ‬يعكس‭ ‬الأساس‭ ‬كذلك‭ ‬أحوال‭ ‬السوق‭ ‬الأساسية‭ ‬الأوسع‭ ‬نطاقاً‭ ‬وأن‭ ‬يكون‭ ‬مفيداً‭ ‬لمقرري‭ ‬السياسات‭ ‬مثل‭ ‬الوكالة‭ ‬الدولية‭ ‬للطاقة‭ ‬ومنظمة‭ ‬أوبك‭ ‬التي‭ ‬تحاول‭ ‬مراقبة‭ ‬أسواق‭ ‬النفط‭ ‬العالمية‭ ‬وتحقيق‭ ‬الاستقرار‭ ‬فيها‭.‬

February 24, 2020
قيمة المبيعات الفورية للبلدان المنتجة المقيدة بحصص الإنتاج

قيمة المبيعات الفورية للبلدان المنتجة المقيدة بحصص الإنتاج

شهدت‭ ‬أسواق‭ ‬النفط‭ ‬العالمية‭ ‬في‭ ‬السنوات‭ ‬الأخيرة‭ ‬منافسةً‭ ‬محتدمةً‭ ‬مدفوعةً‭ ‬بالفوائض‭ ‬المتزايدة‭ ‬من‭ ‬النفط‭ ‬الصخري‭ ‬والنفط‭ ‬الخام‭ ‬الخفيف،‭ ‬ومع‭ ‬تقلص‭ ‬هوامش‭ ‬الربحية‭ ‬لجأ‭ ‬العديد‭ ‬من‭ ‬الشركات‭ ‬المنتجة‭ ‬للنفط‭ ‬إلى‭ ‬زيادة‭ ‬حجم‭ ‬إنتاجها‭ ‬بغية‭ ‬تعزيز‭ ‬الإيرادات،‭ ‬الأمر‭ ‬الذي‭ ‬أدى‭ ‬إلى‭ ‬زيادة‭ ‬مفرطة‭ ‬في‭ ‬المعروض‭. ‬وفي‭ ‬الوقت‭ ‬ذاته،‭ ‬انقلبت‭ ‬ديناميكيات‭ ‬السوق‭ ‬العالمية،‭ ‬حيث‭ ‬توقع‭ ‬الكثيرون‭ ‬أن‭ ‬الولايات‭ ‬المتحدة‭ ‬ستصبح‭ ‬المورد‭ ‬الرئيسي‭ ‬للنفط‭ ‬الخام‭ ‬مورس‭ .2018 ‬وتمثل‭ ‬هذه‭ ‬الأجواء‭ ‬تحديًا‭ ‬كبيرًا‭ ‬لشركات‭ ‬النفط‭ ‬الكبرى‭ ‬المقيدة‭ ‬بحصص‭ ‬إنتاج‭ ‬صارمة،‭ ‬حيث‭ ‬تسعى‭ ‬إلى‭ ‬زيادة‭ ‬الربحية‭ ‬مع‭ ‬الحفاظ‭ ‬على‭ ‬مستويات‭ ‬ثابتة‭ ‬من‭ ‬إنتاج‭ ‬النفط‭ ‬الخام‭ ‬ومبيعاته‭.‬

January 16, 2020
تأمين أسواق جديدة في آسيا: قيمة المبيعات الفورية الاستراتيجية للنفط الخام الخاصة بالمصافي المحلية المستقلة

تأمين أسواق جديدة في آسيا: قيمة المبيعات الفورية الاستراتيجية للنفط الخام الخاصة بالمصافي المحلية المستقلة

في سباق تأمين العملاء في أسواق النفط العالمية التنافسية، ينظر العديد من منتجي النفط إلى الصين بوصفها مصدرًا واعدًا لزيادة حصتها في السوق. إذ تمثل مهمة تأمين عملاء جدد في الصين تحديًا لأن معظم النمو الأخير في الطلب على النفط في الصين جاء من المصافي المحلية المستقلة “مصافي إبريق الشاي” التي يصعب التنبؤ بها، وتشبه “الغرب” أكثر من شركات النفط الوطنية الصينية. تميل المصافي المحلية المستقلة إلى زيادة التركيزعلى الأرباح قصيرة الأجل أكثر من العلاقات طويلة الأجل.

December 18, 2019
نموذج كابسارك للتنبؤ القصير المدى بأسعار نفط برنت

نموذج كابسارك للتنبؤ القصير المدى بأسعار نفط برنت

تم تصميم نموذج توقعات كابسارك للأسواق النفطية بغية تزويد القراء بمصدر بيانات مناسب وتوقعات وتحليلات لأسواق النفط العالمية بما في ذلك فهم العوامل الرئيسة المؤثرة على أسعار النفط العالمية. ويقدم هذا البحث وصفا مفصلا عن نطاق النموذج بما في ذلك النماذج والمنهجية والفرضيات المستخدمة في التحليل.

October 20, 2019
النفط الخام والمنتجات المكررة

النفط الخام والمنتجات المكررة

يشكل قطاع الطاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية ما يزيد عن نصف الطلب على الغاز الطبيعي في المملكة، يليه القطاع الصناعي والاستخدام غيرالطاقي كمادة أولية للبتروكيماويات

April 6, 2020
تقييم آثار فيروس كورونا على الطلب على النفط ومرونة الأسعار

تقييم آثار فيروس كورونا على الطلب على النفط ومرونة الأسعار

يبدو أن هناك استجابة كبيرة في أسواق النفط الخام لانتشار فيروس كورونا الذي بدأ في مدينة ووهان الصينية منذ شهر ديسمبر عام 2019م، حيث انتشر الفيروس منذ ذلك الحين ليصل لدول أخرى حول العالم. وتم فرض الحجر الصحي على كثير من المدن في ولاية هوبى –عاصمتها ووهان-  وأوقفت العديد من شركات الطيران رحلاتها إلى البر الرئيسي للصين.  

February 20, 2020
تأثير اضطرابات التجارة العالمية على أسواق النفط العالمية

تأثير اضطرابات التجارة العالمية على أسواق النفط العالمية

أصبحت الآن موجة من التدابير الحمائية والحرب التجارية العالمية تهدد التجارة العالمية عقب عقود من التحرير السلس للتجارة، حيث نجد أنّ الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية فرضت في الأول من سبتمبر عام 2019 م سلسلة جديدة من الرسوم الجمركية على الواردات الصينية التي تقدر بأكثر من 100 مليار دولار أمريكي.

December 4, 2019

كن على اطلاع

أنا مهتم بـ

اختر الإشعارات التي ترغب بإرسالها لك

عن

نبذة عنك

• Primary Program Markets and Industrial Development
  • Research Interests Oil markets and energy policies

Biography

Abdullah is a research analyst in the  Markets and Industrial Development program, with a focus on oil markets and energy policies. He is a recent graduate who previously completed an internship at Halliburton’s research and development center in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia.

Publications

See all Abdullah’s publications
  • Discussion papers
  • Methodology papers
  • Data Insights
  • Instant Insights
Balancing World Oil Markets and Understanding Contango and Inventories: The Changing Nature of World Oil Markets

Balancing World Oil Markets and Understanding Contango and Inventories: The Changing Nature of World Oil Markets

The general theory of storage suggests that the level of inventories is a key factor in determining the structure of the oil futures curve, or the basis, over time. The basis is the difference between the price of oil in the futures market and the price of oil in the spot market. As an indicator of future price movements, the basis follows a different dynamic when inventories are in scarce supply or in surplus. This means that there are several different market states that reflect different underlying crude oil market conditions. 

6th July 2020
Market Structure, Inventories and Oil Prices: An Empirical Analysis

Market Structure, Inventories and Oil Prices: An Empirical Analysis

Understanding the relationship between crude oil prices and inventory levels is critical for policymakers and economic actors. The size of the ‘basis,’ or spread between spot and futures prices, reflects the level of inventories and can trigger arbitrage trading. The basis also reflects broader underlying market conditions and can be useful to policymakers such as the International Energy Agency and OPEC attempting to monitor and stabilize world oil markets.

24th February 2020
The Value of Spot Sales to a Producing Country Subject to Production Quotas

The Value of Spot Sales to a Producing Country Subject to Production Quotas

In recent years, global oil markets have experienced intensified competition driven by growing surpluses of lighter crude and shale oil. As their margins have shrunk, many producers have increased output in order to boost revenue, adding to the oversupply. Meanwhile, global market dynamics have been upended, with many predicting that the United States will become the primary swing supplier of crude oil (Morse 2018). This atmosphere is particularly challenging for those major oil companies subject to strict production quotas, as they seek to maximize profitability while maintaining constant levels of crude oil production and sales.

16th January 2020
Securing New Markets in Asia: The Value of Strategic Spot Crude Oil Sales to Teapot Refiners

Securing New Markets in Asia: The Value of Strategic Spot Crude Oil Sales to Teapot Refiners

In the race to secure customers on competitive world oil markets, many oil producers are looking to China as a promising source of increased market share. The task of securing new customers in China can be challenging, as most of China’s recent growth in oil demand has come from ‘teapot refiners’ who have been less predictable, and more like the ‘wild west,’ than China’s national oil companies. Teapot refiners tend to be more focused on short-term profits than long-term relationships.

18th December 2019
World Oil and Inventory Study: A Global VAR Analysis

World Oil and Inventory Study: A Global VAR Analysis

Despite numerous journal articles, forecasting studies, and books, very little is known about the actual quantitative value, or economic cost, of shocks to world oil markets. The potential consequences of a given political or economic disturbance are unclear, and appear to depend on market conditions at the time of forecast and the idiosyncratic nature of the shock (see Figure 1). This study develops a new analytical framework to analyze shocks to world oil markets. We build upon the global vector autoregression (GVAR) model developed in 2016 by Mohaddes  and Pesaran to include a new variable, OECD oil inventories, creating the GVAR Oil and Inventory Model — GOVAR. We also expand its geographic coverage by adding two new countries, Russia and Venezuela.    

10th June 2020
A Short-Term Forecasting Model for Brent Oil Prices

A Short-Term Forecasting Model for Brent Oil Prices

The KAPSARC Oil Market Outlook (KOMO) has been designed to provide readers with a timely source of data, forecasts and analysis of world oil markets, including an understanding of the key factors affecting world oil prices. This paper gives a detailed description of the scope of KOMO, including the models and methodology used in the analysis.

20th October 2019
Crude Oil Reserves Metrics of GCC Members

Crude Oil Reserves Metrics of GCC Members

As of December 2018, the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) countries had combined proven reserves of 497 billion barrels of crude oil. This represents approximately 34% of the world’s estimated proven crude reserves.

27th April 2020
Crude Oil and Refined Products

Crude Oil and Refined Products

The power sector in Saudi Arabia makes up just over half of the natural gas demand in the Kingdom, followed by the industrial sector and non-energy use as a feedstock for petrochemicals.

6th April 2020
Assessment of Coronavirus Effects on Oil Demand Implied by Price Elasticities

Assessment of Coronavirus Effects on Oil Demand Implied by Price Elasticities

There appears to be a significant response in the crude oil markets to the coronavirus outbreak that originated in Wuhan, China, in December 2019 and has since spread globally. Many cities in Hubei, of which Wuhan is the capital, have been quarantined, with many airlines suspending flights to mainland China.

20th February 2020
The Impact of Global Trade Disruptions on World Oil Markets

The Impact of Global Trade Disruptions on World Oil Markets

After decades of relatively smooth trade liberalization, a wave of protectionist measures and a global trade war is now threatening world trade. On September 1, 2019, the United States (U.S.) imposed a new series of tariffs on Chinese imports worth more than $100 billion.

4th December 2019

Stay informed

I'm interested in

Select the updates you'd like to receive from us

About

A bit about you